DVD 3930 HDMI problem

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by wilkman, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. wilkman

    wilkman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I got my DVD-3930 and AVR-4306 yesterday and have spent quite some time setting this up. Audio is great but video is causing me problems over HDMI.

    Video over HDMI is not perfect and at 720p or above the picture quality is completely disturbed. Lots of green/blue/red interference in the whole picture. I have tried about everything.

    First I thought my - somewhat older - Pioneer PDP-434PE was to blame. But my PS3 gives a perfect picture over HDMI. Also, upscaling component from DVD, through the 4306 and via HDMI to the plasma works fine.

    Hope you guys can help me out! thanks

    Wilco
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,309
    Hi

    Are you connecting directly from the 3930 to the Pioneer or via the 4306?
     
  3. wilkman

    wilkman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Jase

    I tried both. The problem occurs when connecting the 3930 directly to the Pioneer as well as when linking up through the 4306.

    A faulty machine perhaps? I haven't read abouy anyone having similar problems.
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,309
    Could be faulty but it's uncommon. Have you swapped HDMI cables over?
     
  5. wilkman

    wilkman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. tried another cable. But as mentioned before, I get good quality pictures - using the same cable - from the PS3 or when upscaling component from the 3930 via the 4306.

    It seems that the problem only occurs with the HDMI output from the DVD 3930.
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,309
    One last thing. Does it do this for both RGB and YCbCr?

    Could try resetting it. In the Troubleshooting section of the manual will be the key press combination you need to do. Usually it's the Play and Chapter Skip buttons that need to be held down at the same time.
     
  7. wilkman

    wilkman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried both RGB and YCbCr. Same results unfortunately.

    The reset didn't work either :(. The dealer gave me the number for Tech Support at Denon here in Australia. I'll give him a call tomorrow and hear what he has to say.

    thanks for your suggestions!
     
  8. Peter Galbavy

    Peter Galbavy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you do "OSD" on the 4306 what resolutions does the amp say the screen supports ?

    When I had a Goodmans 1080p screen, the 4306 only saw 50Hz refresh rates and not 60Hz - so then the 3930 output 60Hz the screen kept dropping out as the HDMI negotiation failed. Output direct from the 3930 always works - just the relay function of the 4306 was sensitive.
     
  9. wilkman

    wilkman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Peter. The screen supports all resolutions according to the amp (excluding 1080p ofcourse).

    After consultation with Denon technical support we concluded I have indeed a faulty unit :(. However my dealer immediately offered to swap for a new one. Can't wait to see the 3930 truly at work!

    tnx all for your help.
     
  10. mc1510

    mc1510
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. wilkman

    wilkman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I received my replacement 3930 today. And it all works perfectly fine now!

    So it seems there are some faulty players out there. You should definitely ask for a new player as well. Good luck!
     
  12. mc1510

    mc1510
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    AV Sales have ordered my replacment player today. Can't wait to receive it and really see this player in action!

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...