DVB-T Tuner. Why??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by tiger123, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. tiger123

    tiger123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I`m thinking of buying a DVD recorder for the first time and some include a DVB-T tuner.

    What does it do that a Freeview box does`nt ??

    What would I need it for?

    Is it worth the extra?

    Any thoughts Thankyou
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,480
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    The one fact I have learned is that having Freeview built in ALWAYS gives a better picture than an external box. An external box converts a digital signal to analogue for the SCART connection and back again in the DVD recorder to put down on DVD or HD. This conversion has a degrading effect, it can be some what overcome by buying quality cables to interconnect the two items (this costs yet more money).
    The same is true with TV's (LCD's and Plasma's) that use an external freeview box, it is never the same quality.
     
  3. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,307
    It's also more convenient - you only have to set one timer.
     
  4. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,150
    A DVB-T tuner IS a freeview tuner.

    Yes - it is a very good idea to get one... assuming you can receive freeview.

    If you get one with an analogue only tuner, it will only be any good for the next 60 days to 48 months depending on where you live, as it will not receive anything after the analogue switch-off.
     
  5. tiger123

    tiger123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the replies.

    What I`m really after is what do I need to maintain a digital path from the aerial to the LCD TV
     
  6. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,150
    I'm not sure why ... because digital does not mean 'better'.
    All broadcast TV starts out as analogue.

    However there is only one form of digital interface for audio/ video interconnection of domestic equipment and that is HDMI

    So you need a DVDR which has HDMI out and your TV must have HDMI in and you'll need an HDMI lead.

    Have you considered a PVR? - it has the advantage of not encoding the signal, as well as dual tuners usually... if digital purity is your concern.
     
  7. Director

    Director
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't know of any current freeview PVR that has an HDMI output
     
  8. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,150
    Indeed not - but a PVR cuts out the encoding issue - so the TV is seeing the signal effectively as it was broadcast... Better than DVDR recordings which are impacted by MPEG encoding.
     
  9. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    If I were you I wouldn't consider a recorder or a TV without Freeview now. If if you would have a spare Freeview box knocking around you might sell it for a fiver or just give it away now Tesco have a £10 box available.

    Setting two timers for recording is a wretched nuisance. You have to allow for over-runs on both boxes, they sometimes have different programming techniques (e.g. Start-stop times, start-duration), different repeat options and more stuff to plug into the mains, more daisy-chain aerial connections, most Freeview boxes will only give composite colour from the timer output, another box under the TV - and another box to leave permanently on or in standby.

    Frankly, I can't imagine why any manufacturers are still producing TVs or recorders without digital tuners. I'd almost say that in some areas of the country it represents mis-selling because the device soon won't do 'what it says on the box'. If you are in a good digital reception area you don't need a dual tuner, and I doubt if a digital tuner chip costs significantly more than analogue.
     
  10. tiger123

    tiger123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the replies.

    So is it true that when the digital switchover happens you will not get apicture unless yiu`ve got a DVB-T tuner?

    What about Freeview tiners in LCD tv`s -will they become useless?
     
  11. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,307
    No, as Gavtech said above, A DVB-T tuner IS a freeview tuner. They are basically the same thing.
     
  12. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    It is true. You can find out when you will lose analogue transmissions here:
    http://www.ukfree.tv/closedown.php
    The animation is very good!
     

Share This Page

Loading...