1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVB-T Htpc ?!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by db298, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. db298

    db298
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It seems to be really difficult to determine which TV card to use for my HTPC setup. I haven't determined which software to use either, but when I throw into the mix that I want it to handle DVB-T freeview signals, it all gets too complex :rolleyes:

    So, can anyone recommend a DVB-T capture card, and some HTPC software that works well with it ? Surely lots of people are out there with this sort of capacity ?
     
  2. Andyuk911

    Andyuk911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I know absolutely nothing about this subject, but somebody I know suggested for me Black Gold TV MCE .... I am not even sure if this is what you are asking for :)
     
  3. db298

    db298
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    The Black Gold is recognised as a good card, but then the next question is which PVR/HTPC software specifically supports it ?
     
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you buy the card with the software it will cost, IIRC, £10 more.

    If you are running XP Media Centre Edition you won't need any extra software!

    I'm not sure it will work with any other software! I'm sure someone else will be along to say for certain.

    Dave
     
  5. db298

    db298
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    The Nebula is also well considered. The problem is with finding HTPC software (other than MCE) which will support any of them... I don't really want to be executing proprietary software from each card, even if it has PVR fuctionality - I want a fully integrated media front end.

    I am correct in thinking that you still can't buy MCE retail ?
     
  6. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You CAN buy it but it has to be with some hardware. The best bet is to buy from ebuyer. Go for the MCE Remote and buy the OS with that.

    Dave
     
  7. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +896
    Apparently the Nebula is considered best quality, but not yet supported by MCE2005, but will be soon (May) when new drivers are ready... next best quality is Black Gold / the same card as the Sweetspot MCE.

    This information is from research rather than practical experience mind... I have tried some cheaper cards in MCE and although the functionality is good, was not that happy with PQ, I am going to wait for the Nebula to be MCE ready I think.

    If you try any others out let us know how you get on?
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
  8. starfire

    starfire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
    Mediaportal and Hauppauge Nova-T work OK together - check out the forums
     
  9. db298

    db298
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for replying Starfire. I'm not sure about mediaportal - I've tried it recently and found the interface to be a little clunky and unintuitive.
     
  10. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    My Black Gold cards (2 for dual tuner capabilities) arrived this week so I hooked one up last night. Using MCE 2005, nvidia decoders and DVI-HDMI to the plasma the picture was better than the freeview box I'd tested and better than my digital NTL (component in via JS tech RGB>Component).

    MCE is a great front end and it is great to be able to pause live tv, record at the touch of a button. The program guide is excellent, so much better (and faster) than anything NTL have ever offered. I'm hooked!
     
  11. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    I'm just going down this road myself - I plan on MCE05 with dual freeview cards (one blackgold, one conexant) with a radeon for RGB scart and hopefully component output to my PJ. Alternatives to mce05 are beyondtv and showshifter (SS didn't have dual dvb-t support last time I looked, but it was coming).

    Most cards come with some sort of PVR too. Pinnacle 300i, hauppage nova-t - I'm pretty sure both of these come with useful software in the retail packs.

    Duncan
     
  12. lochindaal

    lochindaal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was also having this same problem making a decision partly because I wanted a good PVR as well.

    I thought MCE didn't work in the UK with this function but Hutters seems to think it's great so it looks like Black Gold for me.

    Will this work with the MCE remote does anyone know?
     
  13. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    if you take a wander over to the tivocommunity.com forums, look in the uk other chat forum and read through the "mce05 experiences" thread you should get a nice warm feeling this is worth a punt. mce works fine with dual cards (now, it didn't originally as I understand it), the remote works fine, etc etc.
     
  14. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Yep, no probs in setting it up (apart from my nvidia codec trial period had expired!). Install the drivers, shutdown machine, install card(s), restart, windows installs digi card, launch MCE, go to My TV and go through the setup process. You put your postcode in and it asks you to select which transmitter your aerial points to from a list that is applicable to your postcode then it tunes in the channels and then you download the EPG. From within the EPG you can schedule recordings, either timed or based on keywords :thumbsup: so you can leave it to record anything that might be of interest to you.

    I only installed one of the cards last night as the pc i'm playing with did not have enough PCI slots to install two, so i've yet to see how the dual tuner works.
     
  15. DJW

    DJW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody used the Black Gold cards in a weak freeview area ? Currently have a Netgem I-Player which has pretty good reception, but loses signal in poor weather. Just heard some DVB cards are better than others for dealing with weak signals

    Cheers Dave
     
  16. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in a fringe area and I can confirm the Black Gold works better than the Nebula card. I get breakup on ITV, Channel 4 and Five etc with the Nebula but perfect reception with the Black Gold. The Black Gold doesn't do Radio though (when using MCE) whereas the Nebula does when using it's own (free) software - DigiTV.

    Dave
     
  17. lochindaal

    lochindaal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Using the Black Gold with WinDVD6 and getting a really good picture.

    MCE06 should address the radio problem
     
  18. DJW

    DJW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. Did a bit more searching on the web last night & found this very informative thread on the cards . Think I would have to check how well it works with 1 card before considering 2, based on weakening of signal.
     
  19. Mikdasa

    Mikdasa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ran a single nova-t for a few months with mce 2005 and found the drivers to buggy. now up and running with 2 black golds and i'm very happy. i have to use 2 signal booster but even still the pic and sound are great.

    would recomend.

    Mikasa
     
  20. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    The Nebula card also has a very nice front end for using on a TV.

    The other problems with using MCE and a DVB-T card are that MCE doesn't support radio, MHEG (? text) and some other stuff which Nebula pointed out when I asked about driver support :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...