1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dv88+ problem

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by robfitzp, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. robfitzp

    robfitzp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    I have just sold my DV88+ to a chap in the US who is having a problem with S video output. His email to me said 'It plays cd's okay but the video output through s-video rolls and rolls. DVD sound is okay too, just the screen'

    I have suggested trying a different output - not much point buying one of these if you are not going to use component or RGB - and also checking that TV system is set to NTSC or Auto rather than PAL.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
    Rob
     
  2. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    It is almost certainly because the player is set to output PAL signals. In the States there is no real requirement for their displays to be compatible with video formats other than NTSC so they don't bother. Tell him to plug it into a display that will accept PAL signals, change the output on the player to NTSC then plug the machine back into his normal display.
     
  3. robfitzp

    robfitzp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    Crustyloafer

    Thanks for the reply - pretty much what I told him to do.

    Would the OSD be visible even if the player was set to PAL?

    Cheers
    Rob
     
  4. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Yes, but only if you feed the picture into a display that will accept a PAL picture.
     
  5. robfitzp

    robfitzp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    Right, I think the OSD is visible as he has been able to turn the prog scan output off. He also says the player is set to NTSC, but the screen still rolls vertically. Does it on S vid and on composite, don't think he has tried component.

    Player worked fine before it was sent, any ideas?

    Cheers
    Rob
     
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,547
    Deffo sounds like a 50hz / 60hz issue, which his TV would have to support.
     
  7. robfitzp

    robfitzp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    MJN

    Can you elaborate a bit - I would have thought that if he set the player to NTSC it would output 60hz hence there should not be any problem?

    Am I missing something here?

    Cheers
    Rob
     
  8. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Has he tried plugging the DVD player into any other type of display?
     
  9. robfitzp

    robfitzp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    Not yet - I have asked him to and also to try component.

    Cheers
    Rob
     
  10. robfitzp

    robfitzp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    All sorted - he tried it on another TV and it worked.

    Thanks for your help everyone!

    Cheers
    Rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...