1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DV88+ problem....brief horizontal lines???

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by Smurfin, Nov 9, 2003.

  1. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,743
    I've just bought an Arcam DV88+ from someone on these forums. As a change from my old Skyworth PAL progressive player, I'm mightily impressed so far. The images are simply fantastic. BUT.... - isn't there always a but?:rolleyes: - I've noticed on fast-cut scenes that horizontal lines occasionally flash on the screen. Bizarrely, I've only noticed this on trailers, such as LOTR TTT (on the R1 DVD), and never during an actual movie.

    It's happened on several trailers now, and it's beginning to annoy already:(

    I've got it connected to my Sanyo PLV-Z1 via van damme component.

    Anyone ever heard of this? Or know the cause?

    Cheers
    Matt

    PS My machine is running latest firmware
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen this very occassionally & I'm using a HCPC :eek: Only on trailers/some extra features & very infrequently.

    I assume it's due to the material (video etc.) & pull-down detection (3:2:2 etc..).

    Will leave the indepth technical explaination to an expert :)
     
  3. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,743
    Thanks Kramer, you've put my mind more at ease:)

    Anyone else had any experience of this?

    I'm in the middle of watching LOTR TTT ee, and I must say, the picture is sublime:):):)
     
  4. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +301
    A friend of mine had one of these and he also got this occasionally but as far as I can recall it was only on R1 discs. Given that it never sprung up during an actual film he did not see it as a big problem. He initially returned it to the dealer he bought it from - no fault was found.

    Anyway he has now upgraded to an FMJ player but the change had nothing to do with the glitch - he just had more money to burn.
     
  5. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed a similar effect with my Denon DVD player matt. Can't tell you what it is, just that it only pops up on Extras and distributor's title sequences.

    I take it you're happy with the Arcam as a significant enough improvement over your Skyworth BTW? :D?
     
  6. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,743
    Huge improvement, both in video (just how crisp can it get!) and audio....CD playback is fantastic (I've never had a decent CD player before). Pleased as punch:)
     
  7. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm glad you got over your Skyworth induced Denial :laugh:
     
  8. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +301
    Smurfin have you noticed any difference in movie sound ie using the coax or optical out for dd or dts
     
  9. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Smurfin

    What connection are you using for listerning to CDs (analoque, co-ax or optical)?
    Glad you're enjoying the DV88+
     
  10. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,743
    Dimmy, don't be fooled, the skyworth is a superb player for the price.

    Rags....tough one to call, as within a 24 hour period my whole speaker package changed to 5 x S85s and a pair of SS150 THX tripoles:) Sounds much better though, and dare I say it I MUCH prefer the sound of the S85s to my old MPS1610s...

    Robocop...using co-ax for CDs. I'm assuming this is better than analogue? I need to look into CD playback tbh...
     
  11. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    analogue for cd play on the arcam dv88+ = stunning :D :D
     
  12. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,743
    Far superior to co-ax jmack?
     
  13. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think so but i`m not an expert , the songs and voices are crisper
     
  14. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm unsure, perhaps the DACs in your arcam are of higher quality than in your Lexicon? - I'd imagine they are, probably best to use them for CD replay.
     
  15. Pottsy

    Pottsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Smurfin -

    You have to go for analogue for CD!!! My DV88+ is connected to a 3803, and sounds the best (by miles) using analogue ic's (van der hull Bay C5) and pure direct mode on the 3803.
     
  16. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Smurfin
    I like most use analoque connection for my CD playback, via a pair of QED Silver Spiralls.
    DVD playback is via Co-ax.
    I've switched between both inputs on my Denon A11SR which was put in Pure Direct mode, and analoque was the better by miles.
    I don't know how good the DACs are on your Lexicon,but the DV88+'s are of a very high quality( ready for DVD-A).
    Borrow a decent pair of leads from your local dealer and see( or should that be hear) if you can choose between them.
     
  17. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,743
    Hmmm I've noticed the "lines" again, although it was on a non-anamorphic DVD. Anyone else experienced this?:confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...