DV88+ not playing in DTS

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by robocop, Nov 6, 2002.

  1. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    I decided to give my sub a workout tonight, so I tried to play a RI version of U-571 in DTS.
    To my surprise (horror), it refused to do so.
    After it plays the DTS demo (the bit with the piano) it changes to Dolby Digital.
    I tried this several times, but the same thing happened every time.
    I then tried a selection of other DTS discs and they were ok, except for a R1 copy of The Mummy: Ultimate eddition, where exactly the same occurred.
    The only common thing I noticed is that both these discs are by Universal. This may just be a coincidence, but whatever it is dam annoying.
    I am now trying as many DTS discs as possible to see if I can get this fault to happened on any others.
    I would be interested to hear if anyone else has come across a similar problem.
    I will call Arcam tomorrow (looks like later today by the look of the time now) and see what they say.
    The most annoying thing however is that my previous player, a Pioneer 737 played them all ok.

    Kevin
     
  2. monkeyboy69

    monkeyboy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Have you tried just updating the software and firmware to the latest version to see if it rectifys matters

    current version is 1.81 for software which I updated last saturday and seems to have have made some difference on audio, although this was with a dropout problem

    you can obtain these by contacting arcam directly
     
  3. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    monkeyboy

    Are you using the "old Version" of the DV88 or the new DV88+ ?

    Regards

    Kevin
     
  4. steelej

    steelej
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kevin,

    I've had a similar problem with R1 version of the fast and the furious(also Universal). I select DTS from the audio menu and when the film starts it goes back to DD, if I then try to select an other audio track it doesn't allow it. I put it down to the disc as everything else is OK.

    Keep us posted on what arcam say.

    John.
     
  5. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hello...

    Have u a complete list of films which did not work.. could you not change the audio on the fly during the movie ?

    I have not got a R1 Ultimate Mummy.. but I have a R4..

    I do have a U571 Reg1 so I will try it for you tonight..

    The 1.81 patch sounds like the DV88 rather than the plus.. I'll check what version I am on also tonight as my player only got upgraded to plus spec a couple of weeks ago..

    Let me know if any other films have given u problems ?

    (I have had no DTS problems so far though I have not watched any of the older films in a while!)

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  6. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    ..

    Also I have a R4 Fast and the furious which works fine in DTS (and sounds bloody terrific!)

    Matt
     
  7. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    I tried loads of titles last night, but it was getting very late, so I didn’t try every disc.
    I tried a selection of R1, R2 and R4 DTS discs, about 20 or so, but so far I could only get the problem on the above-mentioned discs.
    I tried again this morning, just out of desperation I guess, in case it had cleared itself, but no joy.
    I spoke to yet another extremely helpful person at Arcam Support (Mick C), but they had not yet come across this problem.
    However, I was the first to report a bookmark problem, which subsequently has now been solved in the very latest software version.
    It is this new version they are sending me, so I hope this will clear up both issues.
    On a positive note, the level of service I have received is exemplary, and leaves me in little doubt that all will be resolved in the end.
    I don't think I'd be saying that about many manufacturers?:)
    I will keep you posted.
    Regards
    Kevin
     
  8. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Cool... let me know what the version is they send u..

    I'll report mine tomorrow! (and test out the U571 disc!)

    Matt
     
  9. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Matt

    Arcam have just sent me the latest version,so I will try it later and report back

    Regards

    Kevin:)
     
  10. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Emailed ? Do you mean mailed?

    Cool

    Matt
     
  11. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Mailed:)
     
  12. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hi...

    Yep same problem with U571.. you are not going mad!

    Heres my version :

    2.1.8.11.0

    Mech : LT74

    Let me know how the patching goes!

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  13. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Matt

    I'm glad you have the same problem(if you know what I mean).

    Regards

    Kevin:)
     
  14. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Matt
    Just finished updating the software.
    I'm now using 2.1.8.23.0
    LT75

    But, I still cannot get DTS on U-571:confused:
    I will give Arcam Support a call tomorrow and see what they say.
    My original bookmark problem is now sorted however:)
    Has anyone else encountered the same problem yet?

    Regards
    Kevin
     
  15. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    BTW when I started up U571 I got this 3 line bookmark thing come up ??? is that what is now fixed...

    I will also ring Arcam tomorrow..

    But it seems Universal DTS DVD's have always caused the probs.. though Universal DVD's in other regions do not have the problem..so it must be a US authoring thing.

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  16. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    The original problem with the bookmarks was that it sometimes froze the player when using it.
    This is now resolved:)

    Kevin
     
  17. ricdiggle

    ricdiggle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried this out on my DV88 (not +) and it was fine with U571.

    Richard.
     
  18. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    ricdiggle

    Can you let me know the number on the spine of the DVD case.
    The reason I ask,is in case U-571 has been reissued?
    Mine is 20785.

    Thanks
    Kevin:)
     
  19. ricdiggle

    ricdiggle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here 20785.
     
  20. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    It defo (U571) used to work on my DV88 before the upgrade..

    I have also rang Arcam this morning.. just to let them know..

    I reckon it probably non-standard authoring on Universal's Part.
    (Bit the like the DTS flag issue and Yamaha Amps when DTS DVD's first got released).


    Spoke to a guy called Graham at Arcam who took down the offending disc names.. I also mentioned how my Reg4 F and F works fine.. so hopefully that will lead them to the problem!

    I really like the Arcam Cust Support.. all I want thm to do now is produce a mid-range processor / power - amp to make me completely happy !

    I'll post back when I hear something..

    Matt
     
  21. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi Matt

    Just to let you know I’ve spoken to Mick at Arcam Customer Support this morning, and have posted U-571 and The Mummy: Ultimate Edition.
    Hopefully they will be able to replicate the said problem and perhaps find a cure, if indeed one is possible.
    I wholeheartedly agree your sentiments regarding their Customer Support. It is nigh on a pleasure to phone them if you know what I mean? It is a major plus point in their favour. (No pun intended).

    BTW, I would sincerely be interested in a mid priced amp/processor. One that would be upgradeable to the latest sound formats. I bought my latest AV amp early last year, and it does not have Pro Logic2 or DTS ES Discrete just matrix versions :-(

    How about it JD? I’m sure there is a market out there for such items:)

    Regards
    Kevin
     
  22. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Just got a call back from Arcam (Graham).. He was going to bring in The Mummy to test as well. :D

    Hes going to let me know when they have found something..

    It does sound like a authoring problem from Universal.. but I think they are interested in that it did not effect the DV88 only the Plus model.

    He is also sending me the latest patch update to install on me player :blush:

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  23. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Matt
    Looks like Arcam are definitely on the case.
    Expect it will be sorted by teatime.

    Kevin
    :D :D :D
     
  24. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Matt

    Has your software update arrived?
    If so, and you've installed it, have you noticed any differences?

    Regards

    Kevin
     
  25. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Nope not yet...

    should be here soon.. either tomorrow or monday..

    Matt
     
  26. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Patch arrived this morning I'll get it installed and try it out later!

    Matt
     
  27. Bruce123

    Bruce123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wandon Green
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been following this with interest since a friend of mine has recently purchased a DV88+. Low and behold this morning he states his copy of Eagles:Hell Freezes Over will not play in DTS only PCM. Have any of you DV88+ owners experienced the same with this disc? I note it is not a Universal disc.

    I mentioned to him about the firmware versions but he could not find out which version he has. Would someone be kind enough to let me know how to ascertain version details so that I may pass this on. Thanks.

    Here's hoping the update works for you.

    Bruce
     
  28. steelej

    steelej
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Bruce,

    For me with Hell Freezes over it wouldn't play DTS when selected at the start but changing the audio once the program starts worked OK.

    John.
     
  29. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    The software version is briefly shown on screen when you switch the player on. However, it can be found in the service menu by pressing Stop,Status,4,7,9,2.
    There is an option in here for software version.
    Take care when looking at the other options available through!
    Unfortunately, not all discs allow you to change the audio whilst it is playing; U-571 is one such film.

    Kevin
     
  30. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hello..

    Patched the player.. still got the problem like you robocop!

    Ah well just have to wait for the guys to sort it out!

    Cheers

    Matt
     

Share This Page

Loading...