dv88+ and dts

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by john R1, Nov 10, 2003.

  1. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the arcam dv88+ suffer dts sound drop-outs like the basic dv88 does
     
  2. Dave20

    Dave20
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    for such a popular player not many ppl seem to be able to say much about them on these forums ;)
     
  3. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    DTS is fine on my basic DV88.

    I know this doesn't answer your question, but I thought I'd defend the machine as I think it's a great DVD/CD player.
     
  4. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    noodle i also have a basic dv88 which i have been told has the latest software and firmware, but i still get dts dropout on rare ocasions
     
  5. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i try to play/buy as many dts as i can and not yet suffered from dts dropouts

    top player:D

    and my cd/cdr;) have a new lease of life

    ps. is there a dvd you have in mind if i have it i will give it a spin to check

    make sure your firmware is up to date
     
  6. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    noticed it on the fast and the furious reg 1 and roxy music live at the appolo have quite a few other dts dvds will check them next time i play them strange thing is never noticed it when i played fast and the furious when i first got it , also die another day and bulletprof monk were ok perhaps it was just a glitch
     
  7. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Don't have either of those discs, sorry.

    I have a DV88+ with latest firmware and I don't think I've ever had a DTS dropout...

    I guess the reason owners don't talk about them much is because they're too busy watching/listening to them :clap:

    Watched all three Indiana Jones movies in the last two evenings. Picture quality is absolutely brilliant even on a 106" screen. In fact I haven't seen a pixel for six months!
     
  8. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    My Arcam does not seem to like the R3 HK discs from dddhouse. They freeze and pause and dropout.. though earlier ones are ok.. I put it down to crap manufacture.. the non korean R3s seem to have gone downhill recently. Not had any issues with any of the R1/R2 Jpn discs I have used..and I also like to use the DTS tracks.

    I have a DV88+ on the latest firmware 4.12.0

    Cheers

    Matt
     

Share This Page

Loading...