DV79 review in HiFi News

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by SL Boy, Apr 2, 2004.

Tags:
  1. SL Boy

SL Boy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone seen this review which was due out today? Any comments - particularly regarding how the DV79 shapes up against the Pioneer 868?

I ask because I was about to buy the 868 to go with my Pioneer PDP504 HDE plasma but I am a novice in home cinema so really unsure which DVD player to buy now.

2. SL Boy

SL Boy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    No response so I presume nobody has read this HiFi News review.

I have no experience of Arcam products. Whats the reliability like?

3. ruben20

ruben20

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    So far I know good. I've owned my gear for 6 months. No troubles or whatever. I haven't heard any other complaints for arcam users I know.

4. HoD

HoD

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the two Pioneer DVD players I have owned lasted about 18mths before needing repair. In fact the 737 has now failed again and just makes a whirring sound instead of playing discs. I have only had my Arcam DV27 for about 6mths but so far so good.

5. cwick

cwick

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    A couple of quotes ... " Digital Video's new champion" ... "the truly outstanding player of the moment".

I think you could say they liked it.:smoke:

Well woth buying the mag though - the AV-Tech bit on it's own is worth the cover price - it's by far the best AV publication in the UK IMHO.

Cheers, Carl.

6. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +111
    I think you mean the DV78 and not DV79? ;)

7. cameronl

cameronl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    the dv79 looks like a pretty sweet player...ah progress ah ;)

CaM

8. life sucks

life sucks

Products Owned: