1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DV editing software

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by crawf1982, Jun 21, 2002.

  1. crawf1982

    crawf1982
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have recently bought a Panasonic NVDS37 camcorder and a Sunix Firewire card for my PC. The card came with ULead Video Studio 4. Is this a good piece of software for getting both stills and video off the camcorder? Is there anything that would do the job better?
     
  2. loafer316

    loafer316
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well i'm currently using Ulead VideoStudio 6 which i must say is very is easy to use. (35Mb Trial Downloadable from there site which can be fixed umm..hum :)) I've heard Adobe Premiere is the software to have...but might not be as user friendly.
     
  3. dunk

    dunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ULead is one of those pieces of software that usually gets bundled with your DVCamera isn't it...?
    i can't really comment - i've never used it, but i always percieved it to be for the amateur home movie maker, a bit limiting if you want to progress with your editing.
    Adobe Premier is a good piece of editing software as is Apple Final Cut Pro, both of which are used in professional video editing.
    I prefer Final Cut Pro, but then i'm a mac user, and it was designed originally with mac users in mind :)
     
  4. JefUK

    JefUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +52
  5. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have a look at Vegas Video 3 as well.
     
  6. m@rk

    m@rk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +360
    Well yes but as you say, it takes a lot of learning and also costs a lot of cash.

    If you are serious about video editing then by all means go for it as you can do just about anything with it but can you justify £500 for a hobby?
     
  7. m@rk

    m@rk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +360
    Well yes but as you say, it takes a lot of learning and also costs a lot of cash.

    If you are serious about video editing then by all means go for it as you can do just about anything with it but can you justify £500 for a hobby?
     
  8. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you get the Pinnacle Studio 7 software without the card - I've got firewire already but have read so many good reviews that I'd just like the software - I can't seem to find it anywhere (or am I just being stupid...):confused: :rolleyes:
     
  9. dood

    dood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hobart
    Ratings:
    +38
    I remember reading on this forum not too long ago about a limited facility pinnacle package for 50 pounds. Apparently it does most of the stuff from the full package at a fraction of the cost. At that price it doesn't really matter if there's a firewire card included or not.
     
  10. JefUK

    JefUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +52
    Shoehorn

    Go to DABS http://www.dabs.com/home.asp

    and enter Quicklink YZ1WS


    They have the ful version of Studio 7 without Firewire/analogue card.
     
  11. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    :) Stick with it until you feel the software is limiting your creativity, pay more as and when you need. Most folks are content with what you have for bread and butter use.
     
  12. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    JefUK

    Excellent - thanks very much :D :D :D
     
  13. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Did anyone know where to get a good firewire card without the software?
     
  14. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi loafer136,

    U had siad the ulead VB6 trial download version can be fixed? How? can u teach me?
     
  15. jewbo

    jewbo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i use adobe premier and it does the job brilliantly. u can download most 4 free wit imesh and other file sharing programs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...