1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DV Editing Software

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Gliese 581c, Jan 25, 2005.

  1. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    Could someone give me advice on the best editing software to use with my DV camcorder please ?

    I know a friend of mine uses sony dv dump, encodes and edits with canopus pro encoder and authors with scenarist. - After checking out the prices of that software, its wayyy to much for me.

    Pinnacle Studio version 9 (i think is latest) is within my budget....and that has came recommended by a few friends..

    Could you guys let me know what you use and why ? costs, benefits etc.

    Much appreciated...Thanks. :smashin:
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Well I use Adobe Premiere 6, but that is well out of your budget. Adobe have recently release a cut down version of Premiere that is very good called Premiere Elements.
    The other recommendations are Sony Vegas Studio (I think that's what it is called) and Ulead Video Studio 8. Pinnacle Studio 9 is very good - when it works. It is notorious for crashing on a regular basis, but if you are lucky and get it stable then it is very good.

    Mark.
     
  3. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    I've tried a few packages, granted some are slicker than others but they are all slow at processing the final edit.

    Discovered that an onboard codec is the solution - check out cannopus website, unfortunately not cheap but very worth while.

    I gave up and bought a DVD recorder, most of my shooting is 1hr or more.
    Locked up my 600Mhz Laptop for 8hrs processing 30mins of edited DV.

    Tried 1min worth on my new 3Ghz PC and that still took over 5mins...

    Onboard gives realtime processing i.e. 1min takes 1min guess thats what's inside my HDD DVD.

    Hope that helps.... :smashin:
     
  4. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    Thanks guys, I'll check out your recommendations shortly.
     
  6. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    I tried the trial versions of Ulead & Pinnicle. I also used Intervideo WinDVD creator
     
  7. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    ...and pressed the wrong button :confused: I have finally settled on Pinnicle because although it is unstable, it has a fair few tricks to play with, including blue/green screen & split screen modes. It offers two video channels which the others didn't (or at least I didn't see them :blush:
     
  8. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ulead VideoStudio has two video channels, & split screen but not blue/green screen.
     
  9. melliott1963

    melliott1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've moved away from Pinnacle as my priority is getting my tapes edited and onto DVD, instead of getting my tapes partially edited, trying again because Pinnacle crashed, eventually getting the editing done but then having problems with the rendering, etc. etc.

    Sony Vegas does the job and does it well and reliably. As this is out of aRCaM's budget, Sony Vegas Movie Studio is worth looking at. this also has two video channels and "Green screen" chromakey effects. I tested the trial copy and was very impressed (it also seemed very stable), but decided to go the whole hog and buy the full Vegas software.

    You can download the trial from here:-

    http://mediasoftware.sonypictures.com/download/step2.asp?DID=531
     
  10. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have to admit, I did go out to buy Sony Moviestudio and yes, I did experience Pinnacle crashing with the trial product, but I couldn't find SM on any shelves and I needed to commit to doing something quickly.
    I still might get SM, as I have heard it is far more stable. I saw it at Earls court today, I'm going back tomorrow so I may well be walking away with a buldging bag. :p
     
  11. melliott1963

    melliott1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
  12. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now if you had said you were going to be there yesterday you could have bought me a beer. :) :beer:
     
  13. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    sony movie stuido at $99 sounds good.... how much is sony vegas ?
     
  14. melliott1963

    melliott1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    On its own it's $559.96, and with DVD Architect it's $799.96.

    I bought the Vegas and DVD Architect package, which also includes Screenblast Acid 4.0 & Vision Series Volume 1, for £500.00 from here:

    http://www.shop4sony.com

    However, I did have to haggle a little to get this price.
     
  15. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    lol, jesus.

    I think I'll stick to one of the 'normal' packages thanks.

    right now its a toss up between pinnacle9, sony movie studio and ulead, but would love to be able to afford something more professional.
     
  16. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    just had a read about sony vegas 5, im drooling here :(
     
  17. melliott1963

    melliott1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well my reasoning was as follows. I'd bought Pinnacle Studio v1 for about £120 I seem to recall, and then bought all the upgrades (v6, v7, v8 and v9) in the hope that the next version would have some stability in it, so I must have spent several hundred pounds over the years. I then added to that the cost of the amount of time I've wasted trying to do (and redoing) what I wanted in Studio without it crashing or doing 'weird things', and came to the conclusion that £500 isn't actually a bad price. I'd tried the demo and everything worked as it should, I had no problems at all and the whole package just seem to speed along on my PC. Everything just works, and it works fast and reliably (I hope I'm not tempting fate by saying this!!!).

    I did also look at Vegas Movie Studio and liked it a lot and, as with Vegas, didn't experience any problems in using it, but, compared to Vegas, it is a bit 'sluggish'.
     
  18. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    thanks mate, but i just cant justify paying that kind of money. I can afford it, but dont want to pay it. Reading about Vegas it does seem like quite a good bit of kit, but ive never spent that much on software in my life.

    I take it sony vegas is sone of the best pieces of editing software out there, or ?
     
  19. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    BJC,
    n then, if you r here now, 15.39 27/01, then the beers on you :thumbsup: talkingofwhich, i popped down stairs to the arcade and was given a free bud :devil:
    I was in the vegas+dvd demo earlier and, it looks like I've wsted £90 on pinnacle cos that vegasrocks :clap:
    I've asked the nice man to consider a competitor upgrade, and I think I may be in with a shout :smashin:
     
  20. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    sorry about the bad typing. It's not the affects of the free bud, but the rather strange keyboard on the'inmedia, stand!!!
     
  21. melliott1963

    melliott1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    As far as the 'enthusiastic consumer' is concerned, yes it is, along with Adobe Premier, but from what I can see, you can get far more out of Vegas in a short space of time than you can Premier which does have quite a learning curve. There's also Pinnacle Edition, but when I tried it out, I didn't find it that intuitive to use, and it seemed quite similar to Premier.
     
  22. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    Here's a bit of an update on my Earls Court jaunt.
    Having brought Pinnacle Studio for £90 and then seeing the Vegas demo, I spoke to one of the exibitors, MVS Digital. He told me about competative upgrades.
    I have now brought Sony Vegas 5 +DVD for a further £237 (inc. VAT & del)
    Total price £327 :smashin:
    Just got to work out how to use it now!!! :eek:
     
  23. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    You'll always find plenty of help on the Vegas forums
    http://mediasoftware.sonypictures.com/forums/default.asp?ms=1&ccid=34237700.45961730.9728139

    Also check out www.vasst.com
     
  24. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Von,
    This is the exact site I wanted to get back to. I remembered seeing it on a thread, but when I searched with "Sony Vegas" on the forum, there were too many references to check out. I have stored it in my favourites now. :smashin:
     
  25. PjPip

    PjPip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Are there many different versions of Pinnacle? I ask because I am confused at someone paying £90 for Pinnacle Studio when Amazon have it (Pinnacle Studio Plus V9) for £52.86. I'm in the market for some software and wouldn't like to end up with a severely cut down (lite) version if I wasn't expecting it.
     
  26. Gromit

    Gromit
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +42
    Yes, SONY VEGAS 5 + DVD Architect is an excellent editing software. One of the very best available today. Very easy to work with, and can do so much more that higher priced software can´t.

    Unfortunately, It´s the most underated software - though many use it everyday. However, as more and more people try it they realize how great this software is. In various reviews it beats both Pinnacle Liquid Pro, AVID Xpress, Canopus Edius Pro and Final Cut Pro.

    I bet VEGAS very soon will be one the leading editing software on the market. And why shouldn´t they as they now are a part of SONYm which just resently bought VEGAS from Foundry, who developed Vegas to start with.
     
  27. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    Pip,
    I brought the Pinnacle Studio media suite for £90. It includes Studio ver 9.3 and half a dozen other progs. You also get a 'free' green screen :eek:
    Still, I think even after you take in to account PC worlds mark up, I'm happy with it leading to Vegas for approx £150 less than advertised. :clap:
    Brum
     
  28. PjPip

    PjPip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ahh, make more sense now I see you got the suite. I don't think I need the extra programs but then I'm only just getting into all this. Is there anything in the suite I might regret not having later, if i just go for Studio Plus?
     
  29. thebrummy_one

    thebrummy_one
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London
    Ratings:
    +7
    IMO, There doesn't seem anything special in the other progs:
    Pinnacle Media manager
    Instant DVD recorder
    Instant camera
    Wavelab Lite
    Photo book
    Instant disc
    Instant copy
    Instant write
    Backup
    Restore
    I can't say I've spent too much time looking at what they do, as I've been too busy learning Vegas. :confused:
     
  30. Black 5

    Black 5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just out of interest are there many users on here who use Apple hardware and software?

    I use various bits of their kit, and have used my Powerbook G4 with Final Cut Express etc to great effect and never have any of the annoying set up problems and glitches that a lot of PC users come across, ie it all just works as it should, captures, edits, tfrs to dvd, no crashes, etc.

    I can understand the bias towards PCs in general, but when it comes to multimedia work the Apple stuff is pretty much industry standard as I understand it. Thought maybe cost was the consideration, but the prices being paid according to this thread do make me wonder that I may be missing something obvious.

     

Share This Page

Loading...