Dust over DLP micro mirrors:Is that true??

J

Jolu_DTS

Hi, all,

Today I talked to someone who installs and configure Audio-visual rooms, and he´s supposed to know what he talks about. Well, he told me that DLP RPTV cause problems when time goes by because of dust over DLP micro mirrors. I had never heard something like that. Can anyone confirm if it´s true, and in case it is, it can be fixed?

It sounds pretty serious to me, if it´s true.

Thanks in advance.

Not heard of this one either but common sense tells me that if dust can settle on it then it can be blown off too surely, hehe. However, it sounds like rubbish to me.

I know that if i was going to do any decorating that involved creating any dust i would make damm sure that i covered / sealed the set against dust.:eek:
All the mirrors are micro sized moving thousands of times a second so any dust might get shaken off if any dust did get on them. :suicide:

I'm no expert on this but...

At a guess I would say the mirrors on these DLP tvs are probably sealed in an air tight housing.

I seem to recall these kind of mutterings when computers first started to use Hard Drives... "yeah HDD are great, but you get dust in'em and they break right away...!"

Which is completey true, they would break instantly. When was the last time dust got in your HDD?

Perhaps the same people who started these DLP gossip/rumours only use there cheap Tiny plasmas to watch soap operars on. After all, the must like a drama. :boring:

Kreep don't know for sure but any thing covering the mirrors would cut down the light they emit mabe the only sealing of them is the Screen & TV box they must have taken everything into account when they designed the sets at least i hope so. :rolleyes:

Jolu_DTS said:
Hi, all,