Dust or Dead Pixel - Epson TW100

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by GearHead, Jun 15, 2002.

1. GearHead

GearHead

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Argghh, agony. I've just received my Epson TW100, its my first projector and I must say I'm really impressed with the quality of the picture. I'm really happy with it but this morning my heart sank when I spotted what looks like two problem pixels.

I've searched the forum to try and figure out if they are dead pixels or dust blobs. I seem to be getting contra-indications. Either way I really need to get it sorted out as its rather noticeable. I'm sure they've 'appeared' on the second day. It would help a lot (particularly knowing if its just dust) if I knew what was causing the problem.

I appear to have two light green blobs (one slightly more noticeable/intense than the other. On close inspection, the problem appears to be the entire pixel but is self contained and doesn't spread to any surrounding pixel.

This is what I get if I display individual Red, Blue, Green, White and Black screens:

• Red - can't see any problem
    • Blue - can't see any problem
    • Green - The two pixels stand out as being slightly higher in intensity
    • White - I can clearly see the two green blobs
    • Black - can't see any problem

As you can tell, the pixels are quite noticeable with white or gray colours.

Any thoughts or suggestions ?

Allan

2. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the pixels are truly LIT, they would also show up on the black image. I suspect it's dust. Try to play with the focus a bit and see if you can get a sharp picture of the blobs. If this works, then it's most likely dust. Since you're PJ is very new, i would take it back to the shop for an exchange.