1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dust blobs on Panasonic PT-LC 75E

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Gazz, Jul 26, 2005.

1. Gazz

Gazz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,
    newbie here, so please bear with me.
    I own a Panasonic LCD Projector, model PTLC75E, which I've had about 3 years. In the projected image, there are increasingly noticeable purplish blotches appearing, and the centre of the image is starting to exhibit a yellowish, roughly circular patch.
    I believe the purplish patches are the result of dust build-up in the optical assembly and I'm hoping that the yelowish patch is due to the same thing (would that be likely in your opinion?)
    If that is indeed the problem, does anyone know if it's easy to get into this model and clean the dust off, or is it a service centre job?

Many thanks all for allowing my first post to be a plea for help.

Regards
    Gazz

2. chic

chic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +871
    the blotches are probably dust, but i think the yellowish patch is probably more serious though, i think this is probably heat soak damage which normaly happens over a long period of time with lcd projectors and is a result of the blue polarizor degrading. These can be replaced but i dont know at what cost, also the dust removal is very straight forward and is just a case of popping the lid off and using canned air(taking care to keep the can upright to avoid letting any liquid come out) and spraying int o the panels. I have removed dust from my panasonic a100 and a300 many times. Do a search for some pointers.

3. Gazz

Gazz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for that Chic,