1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dust Blobs (on a Z2)?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by uczmeg, Dec 16, 2003.

  1. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,150
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi,

    My friend has a Z2, he got a dust blob on his first day of viewing. I guess that will teach him for a messy bachelor pad! :rotfl:

    Will the retailer or the warranty do anything about this?

    I'm guessing not.

    What is the best way to get rid of it??

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  2. Off The Fence

    Off The Fence
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North West London
    Ratings:
    +11
  3. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    When I sent my Z1 back to Nexnix to correct a fault with the unit's PSU, they also gave the insides a clean, which got rid of a little dust blob that I'd learned to live with.

    Before taking a screw-driver to the unit, it's probably worth trying the retailer - depending on who it is, they might fix it for you
     
  4. Off The Fence

    Off The Fence
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North West London
    Ratings:
    +11
    I toyed with sending mine back to get it cleaned...

    Trouble is they do seem to build up naturally over time anyway (I have a rear projection LCD TV which I clean every 6 weeks or so), so I figured I'd do it myself to avoid being without 'my new best friend' :blush:

    I've had a couple more new ones accumulate on the Z2 since I gave it a clean out (although they're not as noticable at the 1st couple).

    I suspect it's just going to be one of those ongoing things you have to do regularly (take the dog for a walk, check the oil in the car, clean the Z2 panels... :rolleyes: )

    At least it's pretty straightforward.

    ...and no. I don't live in a particularly dusty environment...

    Ho Hum
     
  5. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh no i have a dust blob, my room isn't even dusty. I will follow those step by step guides, cheers paul, and hopefully all will be well.
    fred
     
  6. AV-Will

    AV-Will
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How big is your screen and how big is the dust blob fred? Good luck mate!
     
  7. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    6ft wide, and the blob is about 6cm in diameter, yeah if i screw this up i will be well ******. i just have to be careful thats all.
    cheers
    fred
     
  8. Off The Fence

    Off The Fence
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North West London
    Ratings:
    +11
  9. tomacwhite

    tomacwhite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +21
    My AE200 had a dust blob, and I was all set to open her up and clean it, but I was advised by another source to leave it for a while, and just hammer the projector for a good 5+ hour session. I did that, and the dust blob burnt itself out.
     
  10. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    Have any of you tried covering your Z2's up (with a bag or pillow case etc) when not in use? I did this with my last PJ and never had a dust blob!
     
  11. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'm going to get a canvas bag with draw strings made to cover my Z2 when ceiling mounted. It may look a bit crap, but the canvas material should not cause any dust of its own and hopefully work at treat?
     
  12. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    You can get draw string cloth bags for motor cycle helmets very cheap.
    I used one with my Toshiba MT1 and it worked a treat!:smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...