Dune or alternative?

batespcm

Standard Member
Reaction score
Total Noob question as this is the thing I am most unsure on

Basically I want to be able to download training videos for work on my laptop but to choose to store them on a media player with build in drives 2TB+ preferred

I basically do not want to store anything on my laptop but choose where to store them when online from it.

I have a good setup, a Yamaha home theatre a good TV and already have a Sumvision Cyclone 2 that goes into the amp however I want something more substantial and this is where the dune comes in

Will this machine do what I want? Are there any other decent alternatives? I have no need for a built in disc player etc so another model may be better

Thanks for your help

Last edited:
Well there are two ways of going about that
1) The media player has a samba server built in, the player must be connected to the local network and shows up as a another PC in windows network browser.
2) Get a player which acts as an external hard drive when plugged into the PC.

Dune's come with a Samba server , the Smart H1 is what you'd be looking at for a 3.5" HDD bay. There is the DuneTV301 but that only takes 2.5" HDD's.

The H1 is a good choice, it sits there and keeps working. There are others but I don't have experience of other current models.

Thanks for the guidance guys will definitely go for the H1 looks like a good piece of kit, you have saved me a few quid not getting the max also!

The H1 is a good player but maybe not the best looking due to the HDD bay on the front of it. If the HDD does not need to get swapped often then you may prefer the look of the Smart D1 which can take an internal HDD - but it is a little more expensive. Or if you want space for 2 HDD's then the HD Duo is worth a look. All of these Dune players (as well as the Max) can use the new 3Tb (or 4Tb if you can afford them) HDD's.

Mark.