dune 3d or pch410

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by nicke20, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. nicke20

    nicke20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    just to stream all my films from pc over lan, and also to play my music (5000+ mp3 and flac in albums and single files) will be connected to 50 panny plasma and onkyo 7.1 thx amp
    would like to be able to use music juke box part via an android tablet ie no screen on
    the price difference is not an issue
    i like to buy the best i can afford that will not go out of date to fast and performs well
    Buy cheap, buy twice as they say
     
  2. Gary Leeds UK

    Gary Leeds UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25
    We have the a400 and we like it
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,523
    With the high end DACs the A-410 should sound the best for music, but if using an external DAC then that wont hear any difference between the players.

    I know with the Dune you can use most jukebox programs with Dune Media Controller for TV free control on a tablet etc, but not sure if the PCH has any such apps.

    Mark.
     
  4. dazm41

    dazm41
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    worksop england
    Ratings:
    +463
    i wouldn't rule out the med8er 600/800/1000 players
     
  5. halfelite

    halfelite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +106
    pch has the nmj controller it will allow music and video playback from a tablet. Because you want android tablet that rules out mede8er as does not look like they will ever release an android version of there ios app for tablets.
     
  6. nicke20

    nicke20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks all, pch410 ordered
    in the end it was the knowledgebase of the pch that swung it
    tough choice though and tbh i think either would have been up to the job
     
  7. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    Does anyone know what the PCH A-410 would do with a Dolby TRUE HD audio track ?
     
  8. halfelite

    halfelite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +106
    depends what format it is in. If its in an mkv file it will only bitstream truehd. there is no truehd downmix. so any format missing the ac3 track will not have sound if you downmix.
     
  9. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    I couldn't see Dolby mentioned in the specs. Does it have passthrough as with DTS HDMA ?
     
  10. halfelite

    halfelite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +106
    Yes it has passthrough like dts-hd. Truehd was removed from the specs because the rumor is popcorn hour is currently in a legal battle with Dolby inside the USA. its why they are no longer exporting to the US. shortly after they stopped sending to the US they pushed out firmwares to all units with the only change being

    - Changed Dolby truehd and ddplus to passthrough (bitstream) only

    So they removed all downmixing so passthrough is still there.
     
  11. jon smith

    jon smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +230
    I've tried the Mede8er, the 303D (well the Zappiti version) and recently bought the A410. I'll be keeping the A410. Didn't like the jukeboxes on the Mede8er, couldn't get subtitles to work properly on the Dune (even with the patch) and have so far had no bother with the A410 so will be keeping that.

    Tried YAMJ, but have stuck with NMJ jukebox and pretty happy with that (especially with NMJ Toolbox editor).
     
  12. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    I know I've asked this already, but can you recon firm that is passes through HD Audio, DTS HDMA & Dolby TrueHD in 5.1 & 7.1 ?

    Cheers
     
  13. jon smith

    jon smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +230
    Every format should work in pass-through mode...
     
  14. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    That's now on my shopping list ;)
     
  15. Gary Leeds UK

    Gary Leeds UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25
    It's a good purchase
     
  16. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    Any suggestions on where to purchase ?
     
  17. Gary Leeds UK

    Gary Leeds UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25
    Amerzon
     
  18. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    And there's a Pro version :rolleyes:
     
  19. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,523
    Not yet according to the Cloud Media sales team - [4. Sep. 2013] Popcorn Hour A-410 PRO
    And when/if the Pro does get released I would expect it to be an expensive unit costing a lot more than the standard A-410

    Mark.
     
  20. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    That would explain what I have been reading. I did read a release date of 14th March.

    Not to worry, I'm sure the a410 vanilla flavour will suffice.
     
  21. a5ian300zx

    a5ian300zx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,592
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +439
    +1 I have also tried the Base3D / Mede8er 1000X3D / Popcorn A410.

    I also would be keeping the A410, i have both YamJ and NMj jukebox on my A410 could ake pics if you want.

    I sold the Base3D off and gave back the borrowed Mede8er 1000x3d and got my HDI Prime 3.0 back for bluray playback.

    the quality is def better on the A410 even with my video processing in the loop (Lumagen and Darbee)

    Thanks
     
  22. a5ian300zx

    a5ian300zx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,592
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +439
    Here is my move jukeboxes

    NMJ on popcorn a410


    uploadfromtaptalk1394357075014.jpg

    Yamj on popcorn A410

    uploadfromtaptalk1394357219775.jpg

    uploadfromtaptalk1394357260698.jpg

    uploadfromtaptalk1394357292536.jpg
     

Share This Page

Loading...