1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dumb component question...

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by jabberwocky-, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. jabberwocky-

    jabberwocky-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +4
    If i connect my dvd player to my telly via component, do I need an amp for the sound... or can running a sound cable from dvd player to tv work?

    Sorry for the rubbish question!
     
  2. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    Red and white RCA/Phono cables will do just fine but you will only get stereo sound.
     
  3. Mad Mikeyboy

    Mad Mikeyboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Renfrew
    Ratings:
    +12
    No such thing as a rubbish question....only rubbish answers!

    your components should be red,white and yellow. Red and white for audio and yellow for video :smashin:
     
  4. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    Hi,

    If you are using component cables, i.e. the Red/Green/Blue ones, you will need a seperate cable for sound. Component cables only carry video over the 3 cables. The yellow cable mentioned is for composite video, and you will need to use the red/white cables for that as well to get sound. If still unsure, post your kit and we'll try to help out.

    Cheers

    Andy
     

Share This Page

Loading...