1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dubbing on XS32

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by AVFan7667, Dec 12, 2004.

  1. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had my XS32 for less than a week and am still getting to grips with everything it does.

    A couple of questions I can't seem to find in the manual (though it's not the easiest manual to find things in!) that I thought you very knowledgeable people might know the answers to.

    If I record to HDD in a fairly high bitrate, I have to do a Rate Conversion Dub to fit it on one disc when I want to burn it. I tried to do one of these tonight, and although it seemed to work (I cancelled it before it finished) it was in real-time - is this correct? If I want to rate-conversion dub a 4-hour title do I really have to wait 4 hours for it to finish?

    Also, when dubbing to DVD-RW, if the title doesn't fit on the disc, is it possible to have it automatically spread it over multiple discs without first rate-conversion dubbing it to fit on one?

    Thanks
     
  2. Mechman

    Mechman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  3. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    No. You can create a playlist which splits your title in half, then dub the first half on one disc and the second half on the other.

    Mark
     
  4. Neville Street

    Neville Street
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    As each recording can have a different record quality setting what I do is record stuff from the internal tuner that is not for archiving at about 4.6 and do Sky+ copy at 6.6. If I am copying from Sky+ and I know I will take out the ads and then put onto a DVD I set the quality at the right level for the final edit to fit on a disk. It becomes quite easy to do as you get used to it. I have had my Tosh for 5 months now and it is second nature.

    A useful feature that you may not have discovered is the "auto power off". In most time consuming activities, e.g. 4hr long rate convert, 6hr long Copy from Sky+, you press "quick menu" and then set to auto power off when done. I picked it up in use rather than from the manual.
     
  5. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Quick menu...where would you be without it :D
     
  6. kocl

    kocl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    PORTUGAL
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi, i have a problem with dvd-r created with toshiba, Why does the menu key doesn0t work only the top menu?
     

Share This Page

Loading...