Dubbing Mode/Speed Question, Pan E100

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Kevo, Dec 15, 2003.

  1. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,363
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    I'll be transferring my brother's Digital 8 camcorder tapes to DVD-R (via HDD) using a Panasonic DMR-E100 (iLink).
    All 30 of em! :)eek: ) at 45 mins each tape.

    He wants ALL the tapes recording and NOTHING cut out (suits me, less work to do!)

    Obviously the optimum quality would be to use XP to XP mode (high speed dub), but this seems a waste of DVD-R at only 45 mins.

    So, if I was to put two tapes to a disk giving 90 mins what is my best option, quality wise ?...

    1. Camcorder to HD (xp) then HD to DVD-R (FR)
    2. Camcorder to HD (sp) then HD to DVD-R (SP) and thus transferring with no conversion and at higher speed.

    [EDIT]
    I've just heard of a third option...
    3. Camcorder to HD (FR, set at 92mins, pausing for tape change) then HD to DVD-R (FR) at high speed mode.
    [/EDIT]

    Also is there likely to be any compatibilty issues on his DVD player (Tosh SD110) with disks recorded in FR mode?
     
  2. Hodman

    Hodman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    I bought one from Currys and these are my observations;

    NOISY !! the machine uses a fan which makes a constant loud hum!

    The on screen menus are basic but functional.

    The remote control is a design nightmare and the recorder does not respond well to it.

    Internally the transporter is a Ricoh unit (without it's casing).
    Yes, the same unit Currys sell as an internal DVD + RW for £99.

    The processing board can be seen here: http://www.area450.com/thesampozone/players/md40597.htm

    Picture and sound quality id VERY good.
    I've tried recording in all quality modes and from all sources and I have no complaints there.

    I purchased it once I was able to discover who makes it and whether it is a hackable unit.
    Region hack is:
    1) Empty tray closed.
    2) from the remote press 'Stop' and 00001 (region 1) or 00002 (region 2) etc. use 00000 for all regions.

    I hope the above is useful.
     
  3. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,363
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    Mine's as quiet as a mouse, sounds like yours may have a fault in the fan.

    It's not that bad, i've used worse.

    Thanks for the region hack, 'll try that later.
     
  4. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,986
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Meanwhile, back at the question you asked - I would use FR. This will maximise quality.
     
  5. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,363
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    1 or 3 ?
     
  6. Zor

    Zor
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hodman

    Your are talking about the Panasonic DMR-E100?
     
  7. Yuccaman

    Yuccaman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Doesn;t look like it if the drive in it is a Ricoh DVD +RW :)

    As for Kevo's question, from reading the admittedly HS2 manual, is it possible to set a time for recording to the HDD in FR mode ?

    Surely if you have enough HDD space free, selecting FR mode will recordsomthing in the same bitrate as XP....

    perhaps I am thinking too literally.....
     
  8. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,363
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    I think you can set the mins for FR mode when recording to the HDD. But there's no mention of neing available to high speed dub to DVD RAM in FR to FR.

    I guess i'll have to do a few tests.
     
  9. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think there must be confusion here.Panasonic have never had remote hackable machines,especially ones with +RW drives in.Option 1 is best,as it will give quality between XP and SP.Option 2 will give SP.Option3 would not work.If you record on HDD for 90 minutes,it will record at XP.(Whether you set it at FR or not).You cannot transfer more than 1 hour of XP to dvd,so high speed would not work.
     
  10. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,363
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    Thought as much, somebody on the 'Whole Wide Web' forum suggested that.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...