Dubbing from HDD to DVD

Hergersheimer

Standard Member
Do you have to reduce the quality of a film recorded from a TV signal to fit it onto a DVD+R? I have recorded a broadcast film onto the hard drive of my Sony HDD/DVD recorder. The recorder says the film is 1 hour 54 minutes, 7.8G and HQ quality. But, the Sony DVD+R packaging says the disc has a capacity of 4.7GB/ 120min.

I understand I can split the film in order to fit it onto two separate discs, but when the big studios sell films on DVD, they are usually on one disc. I believe I could also have recorded the film in a mode giving lesser quality, but I wanted the best possible (HQ).

I originally posted this question into the Sony owners forum as I was not sure if it counted as a DVD player question. My question may seem silly, but I am new to digital tv (Bravia), HDD and DVDs.

Last edited:

StevieBuck

The 120min only applies when using constant bitrates for recording - which most (all?) standalone DVD/HDD recorder's use. You'll notice this when selecting the record mode quality, i.e HQ may relate to 1 hour per DVD+R, standard qualty = 2 hours, extended = 4 hours, and so on.

All studio DVDs use a variable bitrate when encoding the video, so the movie length does not have such a direct effect on the overall file size. For example, in slow/low action scenes the bitrate will be lower and a smaller filesize wil be needed. In other words, the overall filesize is more dependent on the quality settings used to do the encoding as opposed to being dictated by the movie duration when constant bitrates are used.

Another thing to note of course, is that most movies are released on dual layer DVDs which have twice the capacity of a DVD+R. If you used a dual layer disk you'd fit your movie onto it as-is no problem.

bonzobanana