1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual tuner DVB-T card??? Newb question.

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by hamant, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. hamant

    hamant
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm just getting around to finishing my HTPC and need to get a tv card. I've been looking around for a DVB-T card with dual tuner, but can only seem to find this one. I would normally go for 2 cards, but i've got a shuttle system and only have 1 pci slot spare. I found this on google;

    http://www.mediaatlantic.com/product.php/48960/1529/

    Can anyone comment on this?

    I want something that will have the same features as the nebula card. IE. Dump the MPEG stream directly to the HD without any processing.

    Also, with a single tuner DVB-T card, what are the limitations? Can i record 1 channel and watch another? Or can i only either record or watch 1 channel at a time?

    Please help. :thumbsup:
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Interesting, not heard of that before, it says that it is MCE compatible but I didn't think MCE could cope with a mixture of tv cards, I thought you either had to have twin dvb-t cards or twin analogue cards otherwise the EPG and functionality will get confused.

    Hopefully someone else will know more...

    If you are looking for dual DVB-T tuners I have this USB2 box working within MCE, which you could use in addition to a PCI card to get the twin tuner functionality.

    Oh, and yes to watch one channel whilst recording another you do need two tuners.

    lisa
     
  3. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +67
    A dual-tuner DVB card is under development at the moment. Is from the company that produces the "Black Gold" DVB card, if I recall. It is being specifically developed to answer a demand from Media Center PCs.
     
  5. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    indeed - I enquired about this a while back and was told to keep an eye out in 'April'. It can't be that far off now
     
  6. hamant

    hamant
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sent an email to the people behind the Black Gold card asking about their dual tuner card and this is the reply i got;

    Dear Sir

    The Black Gold dual tuner product is scheduled for relaese in approx. 8-10 weeks. Unfortunately it will not support Top-up TV.

    Regards,

    Product Support

    Not sure if i can hold out.
     
  7. Slinkoff

    Slinkoff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    I'm in exactly the same boat, only want to use 1 PCI slot but have dual digital tuner functionality. I emailed Black Gold and got the same response of April so it really can't be that far off. I think it's probably worth holding out for. I want to use my only other spare slot for a Mystique card: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/HiTeC.html

    I want to make sure I'm not waiting for the wrong thing though. I'm currently not using my MCE2005 PC for TV, pending a tuner card. At the moment I just have a freeview settop box, no cable or sky or anything like that. Does that mean I need an analogue card rather than digital?

    I took analogue to mean plug the aerial in and you get the standard 5 channels and I understood DVB-T to mean, plug your aerial in and get Freeview digital channels. Is that not correct?
     
  8. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    You are 100% correct.
     
  9. Fulltopuk

    Fulltopuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    I am no expert but will a Hauppage PVR 500 MCE do the job?
     
  10. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    It would do for analogue terrestial tv, or if you could feed it from two independent set-top boxes (e.g. either two freeview boxes, or two sky boxes)
    lisa
     

Share This Page

Loading...