Dual tuner DVB-T card??? Newb question.

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by hamant, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. hamant

    hamant
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, I'm just getting around to finishing my HTPC and need to get a tv card. I've been looking around for a DVB-T card with dual tuner, but can only seem to find this one. I would normally go for 2 cards, but i've got a shuttle system and only have 1 pci slot spare. I found this on google;

    http://www.mediaatlantic.com/product.php/48960/1529/

    Can anyone comment on this?

    I want something that will have the same features as the nebula card. IE. Dump the MPEG stream directly to the HD without any processing.

    Also, with a single tuner DVB-T card, what are the limitations? Can i record 1 channel and watch another? Or can i only either record or watch 1 channel at a time?

    Please help. :thumbsup:
     
  2. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,357
    Interesting, not heard of that before, it says that it is MCE compatible but I didn't think MCE could cope with a mixture of tv cards, I thought you either had to have twin dvb-t cards or twin analogue cards otherwise the EPG and functionality will get confused.

    Hopefully someone else will know more...

    If you are looking for dual DVB-T tuners I have this USB2 box working within MCE, which you could use in addition to a PCI card to get the twin tuner functionality.

    Oh, and yes to watch one channel whilst recording another you do need two tuners.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
  3. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    A dual-tuner DVB card is under development at the moment. Is from the company that produces the "Black Gold" DVB card, if I recall. It is being specifically developed to answer a demand from Media Center PCs.
     
  5. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    indeed - I enquired about this a while back and was told to keep an eye out in 'April'. It can't be that far off now
     
  6. hamant

    hamant
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1
    I sent an email to the people behind the Black Gold card asking about their dual tuner card and this is the reply i got;

    Dear Sir

    The Black Gold dual tuner product is scheduled for relaese in approx. 8-10 weeks. Unfortunately it will not support Top-up TV.

    Regards,

    Product Support

    Not sure if i can hold out.
     
  7. Slinkoff

    Slinkoff
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    I'm in exactly the same boat, only want to use 1 PCI slot but have dual digital tuner functionality. I emailed Black Gold and got the same response of April so it really can't be that far off. I think it's probably worth holding out for. I want to use my only other spare slot for a Mystique card: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/HiTeC.html

    I want to make sure I'm not waiting for the wrong thing though. I'm currently not using my MCE2005 PC for TV, pending a tuner card. At the moment I just have a freeview settop box, no cable or sky or anything like that. Does that mean I need an analogue card rather than digital?

    I took analogue to mean plug the aerial in and you get the standard 5 channels and I understood DVB-T to mean, plug your aerial in and get Freeview digital channels. Is that not correct?
     
  8. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    You are 100% correct.
     
  9. Fulltopuk

    Fulltopuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    I am no expert but will a Hauppage PVR 500 MCE do the job?
     
  10. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,357
    It would do for analogue terrestial tv, or if you could feed it from two independent set-top boxes (e.g. either two freeview boxes, or two sky boxes)
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice