1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual Soundcards?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by CrispyXUK, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    This may sound crazy but can i output from my nForce2 mother board via s/pdif into my maudio 2496 then outut to my amp?

    Has anyone tried anything like this?
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Well I can certainly vouch for the fact that 2 soundcards can be made to run together, I once had a Soundblaster and a Terratec co-existing briefly, it therefore follows that it should be possible to do what you're after.

    Interested to know what you plan to do .. trying to record it for some reason?
     
  3. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    nah I want the nforce dd encodeing for games, I'd like it to route through the maudio so I only have 1 connection to the amp
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ah right, I see, a simple loop-through .. well my experience with an nForce2 board doesn't include adding a 'real' one as well, but off-hand I don't see a problem.

    Tell me, why do you use an M-Audio instead of the nForce's SPD/IF? I realise the analog outputs are better, but is the SPD/IF really better? I'm interested because I'm putting together a new HCPC and still considering sound options, right now it's looking like an LGA775 board using DD Live but that's far from certain .. would appreciate your thoughts on the M-Audio.
     
  5. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Maudio mainly for the 24/96 uspscaling ability and it has a better sync clock which seems to stop stuttering.

    I'll let you know how I get on
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Please do, I'm interested :) .. not sure I've ever experienced stuttering with the nForce2 board or my temporary HCPC one, maybe I've just been lucky.
     
  7. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    The MAudio Revo and like have adjustable latencies. You can fine tune them with Powerstrip to reduce stuttering. Most onbard audio is unadjustable.

    The issue I had was playing back material @ 50Hz - software decoders become really finicky for some reason at the refresh rate. The greatest increase in smooth playback was achieved by adjusting the latencies of the gfx card and sound card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...