Dual Recording

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by General Skanky, Sep 13, 2003.

Tags:
  1. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    It's on its way soon to Sky+. Being able to record two channels at once is great.

    My question for anyone that might know, I take it you're reduced to watching analogue or a DVD whilst dual recording goes on? Seems obvious to me that'll be the case, but I'd like to think I'm wrong and be able to watch a 3rd sky channel somehow.:rolleyes:
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    The idea is that you can record two channels, watch either of these or a previously recorded programme on the Sky+ HDD. As far as I'm concerned there would need to be a pretty radical overall of UK TV before I was ever in a situation where I would need all this. I think I have only ever used record one channel whilst watching another once or twice - and I've had Sky+ for over a year now.
     
  3. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    You can't record 2 channels at the same time yet.

    It is still a feature that is coming soon.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    Hence the statement "It's on its way soon to Sky+" ;)
     
  5. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Doh!

    I read it as "my Sky+ is on it's way soon."

    There have been so many threads of us all jumping in now the £10 fee is going that I didn't bother with something silly like reading the title! :)

    So going back to the real thread, I too can never imagine 3 sky channels all showing something worth watching at the same time.

    And even if they were, I'm sure at least 2 of the programs could be found repeated later in the week.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  6. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    So that's a yes then?:)

    As for watching channels, you need to see my wife and her mum let loose on 148 and 149! It's DIY, makeover, garden hell.:laugh:

    If they can record and archive it they will.
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    God I know what you mean. I'm after a device that can pipe UK Style direct to my Mother's brain to save everyone else having to suffer.
     
  8. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Sorry!

    The original question, forgot about that.

    To clear it up, the answer is if you wish to watch SKY live it will have to be one of the two channels that you are recording.

    The box is only capable of receiving two Sky signals at once.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  9. Phatboy

    Phatboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +0
    see my post on Sky+ sub scrapped.

    Sky + does record two channels at once now! but you can't watch a third channel at the same time unless of course you have your original digibox and a mirror sub! I have so I guess ive allready got the set up that sky are thinking about!
     
  10. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,040
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +660
    No. The idea is that you should be able to set it to record two different programs at once in the Planner. While it's doing this you could watch either of the two live, or (I think) play back a previously-recorded third program (although not watch a third live program, obviously).

    Also, as I said in the other thread, a live pause recording vanishes as soon as you change channels.
     
  11. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Do you have concrete information on that?

    It's been that way for over 2 years now!
     
  12. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Well they did advertise it in the last Sky magazine, so it suggests it is gettng close.

    But I'm not holding my breath,
     
  13. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    when I ordered my sky+ box the other day I was told by the person on the phone, completely unprompted, that SKY+ would be updated to record 2 channels at once in the very near future.
     
  14. adeyb

    adeyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    had her sky plus installed yesterday, the installer said that the dual record feature is 11 days away (from yesterday),

    she doesnt lie, he might!

    ta

    Adeyb
     
  15. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,912
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +410
    That would tie in with the Oct 1 date that has been banded about widely then ... just in time for Fame Academy to finish and Mrs T's need to record two channels at once diminishes :)
     
  16. malcom

    malcom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just lately I find it hard too imagine finding something worthwhile on one channel to watch.:D :D I am surprised that Sky does not change it's name to that of "The simpsons TV". Then give away "Simpsons TV plus + boxes with 160GB hard drives that will only record back to back episodes of the simpsons or 34 hours in XP mode of the message. "No signal is being recieved"
    The latter is what I call real entertainment.:D :D

    Sorry for the silly rant but I feel much better now. Just as my therapist said i would:D :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...