1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual monitors

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Desticado, Mar 20, 2003.

  1. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Can anyone reccomend a reliable card for running two monitors?

    I primarily want to be able to have two TFT screens both running the same image.

    Better yet, is there a simple switch box or Y-cable that will do this for me on an exhisting card.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    You'll be alright with any of the modern ati cards eg radeon 9000 as long as you avoid the all in wonders which only have 1 output.
     
  3. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi John.

    Never realised you were so close!

    Surely it must be possible to get a junction box or something, since Im not interested in multscreenting. Least not at the moment.

    Thanks.
     
  4. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Cheap junction boxes/ splitters tend to cause ghosting at anything over 800*600, to spend more you might as well just buy the better agp card and know that you can run it at the right resolution.

    I moved to Herne Bay about a year ago, (was in Margate before), there's a few of us southerners around but just not as many as the nortrherners.:p
     
  5. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've lived in the north. Not much incentive to go out up there so they're more likely to sit indoors and listen to their AV systems. :D
     
  6. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    It's not just us Northerners that need to get out more ;) :p :D


    steve
     
  7. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeap plenty more of us southerners here always willing to help out.

    Unless you go for a server monitor (needs it own PCI slot) a dual AGP is the only real alternative.

    Rgds

    Nathan
     
  8. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    My parents are trying to move from New Romney to Cumbria, apparently nothing to do down there :devil:
     
  9. Desticado

    Desticado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    New Romney is part of kent's Bermuda Triangle (hastings, ashford, folkstone).

    Its almost like God's waiting room (Eastbourne). :D
     
  10. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    :D I can't disagree
     
  11. dukebox_1st

    dukebox_1st
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    i cheap geforce 4 with dual outputs is perfectly able to do dual monitors. i curently have dual tfts running on a geforce 4 4600 but ovbiously enless ure gaming it isn't really nessaciary to have that much power.

    [​IMG]

    tom
     

Share This Page

Loading...