1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual Layer Disks

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Glennh, Mar 24, 2005.

  1. Glennh

    Glennh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    I couldn't find anything here already covering this. Has anyone had any luck running a dual layer (DVD9) disk (+R) disk in the TAG DVD32R? The backup's which I have made play fine on computers, but not the TAG. I once tried a compressed single layer (+R) which did work.

    Regards
     
  2. caleb

    caleb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cape Town (Ex Holmfirth Yorkshire)
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have the DVD32FLR and they work fine on mine.
     
  3. Glennh

    Glennh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks,

    What sofware did you just for the backup?
     
  4. Glennh

    Glennh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Sony D710A writer with the latest firmware. The disks are Verbatim DL +R, and have tried both 1Click and DVDcloner2.
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I'm surprised they work.....We are talking dual layer here right?
    BTW, one of the largest manufacturer of DVD blanks are not going to make dual layer disks due to extreme reliability issues.....
     
  6. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Disks eh ;)
     
  7. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Guys who cares - Disks or Discs :devil:

    The point - DVDdecrypter will copy double layer discs that play fine on my DVD32, only DVDdecrypter will do this at the moment because it is the copy tool that uses a .MDS file to record the start and end layer sector pointers from the original disc.

    I have tried a number of other tools, some work better than others, most play fine on a Panasonic RP82 but just stop at the layer change on the DVD32, DVDdecrypter copied discs are fine on anything that plays recorded discs.

    To get good results I've had to stick with Verbatim DVD+DL and Plextor PX-716A, Ricoh and Ritek +DLs are less reliable IMO, YMMV.
     
  8. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I'm old fashioned, the Oxford English dictionary does say that the "earlier and better spelling is "disk" but there is a tendency to use "disc" in some scientific senses (not in the botanical.....)".

    Whatever I'm off to play with DVDecrypter...... I knew installing Plextor 716's was a smart move......
     

Share This Page

Loading...