Dual Firmware? Is it possible?

Discussion in 'PS Vita Forum' started by Twon, Sep 15, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Twon

    Twon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +90
    I've got me a PS3 :thumbsup:

    And I'm contimplating spending another £130 I don't have on a PSPlite.:D

    BUT

    I like the idea of running homebrew software while still keeping the functionality of the PS3/PSP link up abilities.

    Is it possible to run 2 firmware at the same time, or is it easy enough downgrade to run custom fw and then upgrade when you want to connect to the good old PS3?

    Or should I just get a cheapy 2nd hand original from the for sale forum and run this with custom fw and get a psplite for my PS3 lovin?

    :)

    Thanks,

    Wiltsteve
     
  2. skinnyfat

    skinnyfat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The custom firmwares (I'm on DAX 3.40 OE) provide that functionality you are looking for.
     
  3. Twon

    Twon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +90
    Does anyone know if the Custom FW's work on the new boy?
     
  4. ZebraheadDude

    ZebraheadDude
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +47
    They do not mate.
     
  5. WelshBluebird

    WelshBluebird
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rhondda
    Ratings:
    +135
  6. skinnyfat

    skinnyfat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well not yet anyway :D:D
     
  7. WelshBluebird

    WelshBluebird
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rhondda
    Ratings:
    +135
    as posted above - there is CFW available for the slim. Its a lengthy process to get it working, but it does work. (only major difference is that the 3.60 M33 on the slim doesn't have any of the 1.50 kernel, so cannot load homebrew made for 1.50 firmware (so you have to use the versions for 2.00 or higher, if available))
     
  8. ZebraheadDude

    ZebraheadDude
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +47
    Which makes it worthless, no?
     
  9. WelshBluebird

    WelshBluebird
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rhondda
    Ratings:
    +135
    not really. As I said, you can get quite a lot of homebrew apps that can work on a 2.xx kernel.

    (i hope posting this like is ok, its just to copy and paste, then re format all the colours etc would take too long)
    http://forums.qj.net/showpost.php?p=1784724&postcount=1
    Granted, not everything is working (far from it), but a lot of stuff is.
     

Share This Page

Loading...