Dts

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by UnicronI, Mar 11, 2006.

  1. UnicronI

    UnicronI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone had problems running DTS through a 360?
     
  2. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,581
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +603
    It doesnt support DTS as far as im aware. Just Dolby
     
  3. UnicronI

    UnicronI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    BUMP
    C'mon folks anyone?
     
  4. stewartpaterson

    stewartpaterson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Ratings:
    +19
  5. UnicronI

    UnicronI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    not in games, in DVD movies!
     
  6. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,581
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +603
    the Xbox 360 doesnt support DTS, if you check the menu it tells you either Dolby Surround or Dolby Digital!

    The last Xbox never supported DTS either.
     
  7. UnicronI

    UnicronI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    funny when i goto the orignal xbox's dashboard theri is an option fot DTS?
     
  8. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,581
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +603
    bah dual post
     
  9. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,581
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +603
    Hmmm

    There isnt a DTS option on the 360 anyway.
     
  10. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    xbox did support dts, the 360 doesn't.

    Why, I don't know! :rolleyes?
     
  11. ParmMann

    ParmMann
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    I've only tried one DVD yet, Almost Famous.
    The 360 played it in Dolby Digital to start with, but I was able to change to the DTS audio and my amp confirmed that it was recieving DTS.
     
  12. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,313
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +304
    I tried playing The Descent via DTS but all i got was crackling sound but it was fine in 5.1. My amp supports dts so dont know how you can play dts and I can't.
     
  13. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    The Xbox and the 360 both definitely support DTS when it comes to DVD's. I've watched many DVD's on both consoles in DTS with no problems at all. It would be ridiculous for them not to support it as even the PS2 does. If you can't get DTS then there is something wrong with your setup.
     
  14. ParmMann

    ParmMann
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    I can't explain that one, but it definately does playback DTS. I just tried Kill Bill and that worked in DTS too. :confused:
     
  15. UnicronI

    UnicronI
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oddly, from what i can gather, it appears to be DTS tracks with high bitrates i.e passion of the christ, that cause a problem!
     
  16. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,313
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +304
    I have the 360 cnnected to my amp via optical lead and i have it on AUX output on my Dennon amp. What am I doing wrong? I thought ust connect yur 360 to amp via optical and in 360 menu change it to dolby digital as there is no dts option and it should work ok.
     
  17. corrado kid

    corrado kid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +89
    Are you talking about games or films? The xbox 360 does support dts on films and probably would on games if they made any. Think it might be an amp setting mate. How can you use a the aux amp input with a optical lead?
     
  18. twistywizard

    twistywizard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I feed optical into my Denon Amp, and have watched films in DTS before inc Passion of The Christ.

    You have to change the Audio from either the DVD menu within the film or with the remote.

    Only done it a few times as I only use my Denon for playing DVD's as the 360 IMO is *****!
     
  19. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,313
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +304
    I selected DTS on the main film menu then began film. The amp has 4 or 5 digital outputs DVD, DBS, AUX and something else can't remember.
     
  20. Markoos

    Markoos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +95
    I've found that out of around 15/20 titles that I've tested, only 2 haven't worked (the aforementioned The Descent and Fifth Element). Like UnicronI has said, it looks like the 360 has issues with DTS tracks in a higher bitrate. I also tried these both on my regular XBox and they worked fine.
     
  21. mike32pf9966/79

    mike32pf9966/79
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    fact,u r wrong:lesson:
     

Share This Page

Loading...