1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DTS Problems With Road to perdition

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by john R1, Feb 24, 2003.

  1. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just finished watching the above, i thought it was a very good film, but there seems to be a lot of sound drop outs & by chapter 21 picture also goes very jerky, has anyone else noticed any problems, in DTS played chapter 21 in dolby digital with no problems at all, await your replys
     
  2. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +118
    What player are u using ?

    Matt
     
  3. John-D

    John-D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh no!

    Just ordered this from Play.com, and its in packing. :suicide:

    John
     
  4. sweetmate

    sweetmate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +46
    Mine played absolutely fine in DTS (Canadian R1). If your picture and sound are breaking up you either have a faulty disc or your dvd player has issues.
     
  5. Phil Hinton

    Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    9,715
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    AVForums
    Ratings:
    +6,978
    Sounds like a Hardware problem.
     
  6. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am using arcam dv88 software & firmware upgraded recently never had problems before this disc john r 1
     
  7. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just Tried dvd on my boys toshiba sd100 which has never had problems with any disc, until now will not even read Road to Pedition, just keeps coming up disc error any ideas, John R1
     
  8. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Won't load on my pioneer 656 :thumbsdow
     
  9. auldendunn

    auldendunn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1
    Watched Canadian R1 at weekend - terrific.

    No problems with DTS (Sony s725D).

    Just re-checked chapter 21 a few minutes ago - no problems.

    So glad Conrad L Hall got the BAFTA - richly deserved.

    Jim
     
  10. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have since replayed dodgy chapters in DTS with no problems, CD WOW have already dispatched a replacement disc see how this one plays, never know might play on the toshiba as well with a bit of luck John R1
     
  11. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    similar thread on thedvdforums - I'm just sending mine back for a refund
     
  12. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    The disc wont spin at all on any of my DVD players or DVD-ROM's.

    Actually...it sort of gets to the menu's after about 10 attempts, but takes over 5 mins to do so. It is stop,start,stop,start all the way.

    CD-WOW are shipping a replacement out to me now...will let you know if its just a faulty disc. :(
     
  13. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My R1 Canadian DTS version from Future Entertainment played fine!!!

    I used a HCPC with PowerDVD XP.
     
  14. letitbleed

    letitbleed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    No problems with my R1 Canadian DTS disc from CD-Wow !
     
  15. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    My R1 Canadian DTS from absound is a faulty one - got it working after a while (on a Pioneer 646) but cant get past the layer change ... just emailed absound ... so p!ssed off ... would have prefered if it hadn't have let me watch a hour of it :mad:
    Paul
     
  16. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +163
    I bought the american version and it is fine. I think the film is good and the sound is great when there are shoot outs
     
  17. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
    So not only did Dreamworks mess up the DTS DVD by adding loads of unnecssary tracks (at least the 2DD5.1 tracks are) but they also forget to test their discs??
    I'll still wait for the UKR2 wait for reviews and the decide which one to go for.
     
  18. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Got around this - select the chapter after the layer change (the scene at the Diner is the one where it changes) start then rewind to a few seconds past the change :D

    Sent mine back this morning though. I'll get the R2 version when it comes out since the DD track is on a par to the DTS one anyway.

    I'd highly recommend this film BTW, the cinematography is outstanding & so you should own it just for that.
     
  19. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    For anyone who wants to check if their disc will play past the layer change it is at approx 64.12 in Chapter 14 The Diner ...
    HTH - Paul ;)
     
  20. John-D

    John-D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried mine today (Canadian version). Fantastic! It works a treat.

    John

    PS. On a Sony 525. Old... I know! :rolleyes:
     
  21. captaineyecatch

    captaineyecatch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +21
    Got mine last week from cdwow - only just tested it and it works fine on my Pioneer 525 :smashin:
     
  22. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +118
    Played mine last night on my dV88+.. no dropouts at all on the DTS track.. did not even notice the layer change..

    great movie :)

    Matt
     
  23. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    I recieved my copy of Road To Perdition from CDWow last week, but as I was going away on business, I loaded it to my colleague.

    When I got back to work he said that he had watched it, and had mixed feelings about the film, but he didn't mention any problems with the disk. So, last night I sat down to watch the film for my self. After putting the disk in (during the boot time), I was pressing buttons on my Pronto and to my surprise, the DVD player (Pioneer 545) showed 'open' and the drawer came out.

    I thought nothing of it, so put the disk back in and carried on pressing buttons on my 'pronto' Again, after 3 or 4 seconds, player showed 'open' and the disk came out.

    The third time, I didn't press anything on the Pronto and it booted. I just assumed that this was some weird problem with a code from my Pronto interfering with the DVD player and thought nothing more of it.


    At 1 hour and 4 mins, I hit what I believe is the layer change.. At this point the disk froze for about 10 seconds and then ejected.

    I put the disk back in, but this time, it immediatly shows 'open' and spits the disk out.. It now does the same thing EVERY time!

    I immediatly thought that this must be a problem with my player, but tried 10 random films and they all booted/played fine.

    I then took the Road To Perdition disk upstairs and tried it on my ageing Samsung 709 and it played perfectly.

    As I final test, I tried playing it on my PC.. It will read (So that I can do a directory) on my Pioneer 106 reader, but it won't play... But it won't even 'mount' on my Pioneer 104 writer. This is VERY strange as my 'writer' is a much more tolerent at reading disks than my 'reader'

    The disks obviously has a problem, but I don't understand how it can play fine on an old Samsung.

    This afternoon, I visited my colleague (who first borrowed the film) and it plays fine on his Pioneer 454.

    I am 99% sure that the disk is faulty and looking at the centre of the disk, it looks what I think is called 'delamination'.. There is an area about 1cm across (on the transparant part) which looks like it has no glue bonding the surfaces together. Its like an air blister.. If I put my finger on the edge at that point, I can squeeze my nail into a gap between the 2 layers.

    Do you think that this is just a faulty disk?
     
  24. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    Here is a scan of the area.. It didn't come out as well as I hoped, as the area is 'mirrored' as opposed to 'transparant' as I originally thought.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Just checked the layer change on my player, seems to work fine :smashin:
     
  26. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    I have a problem with my Canadian copy from CDWow.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=70523

    It took a a few attempts to get the disk to boot on my Pioneer 545 and it played fine, then I got to 1hr 04 (the layer change) and it froze.

    After this, I can't get it to boot at all. Every time, it spits the disk out after a second.

    However, it does play on my old Samsung 709 and my colleagues Pioneer 454..

    But there must be a problem with a disk, rather than my player, as I can't read it with my PC Pioneer 106 reader, or my Pioneer 104 writer.

    Not sure whether I should just get a replacement or a refund.

    I am pretty sure that the problem is 'physical' as looking at the centre of the disk, there is a gap between then layers!
     
  27. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Got this disk last week.

    Seems to play fine on my Tosh SD510 ( havent got round to acctually watching in)

    But took it to a friends sat night who has my old Sony 725 and it didnt play :mad: looked like a right fool.

    very strange.

    Paul
     
  28. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Two threads merged...
     
  29. mr chadwick

    mr chadwick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0


    i had exactly the same prob mate,i had the dts version.contacted cdwow who sent me the dd version,sent back the dts version.
    and now i am happy.

    also the dd version has a making of on it and no french writing all over the cover.


    hope this helps mate:smashin:
     
  30. sweetmate

    sweetmate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +46
    How did you manage this? They don't seem to have the DD version on the site. Did you email them saying you had a problem with the DTS version and they suggested sending you the DD to replace it or did you ask for it specifically?
     

Share This Page

Loading...