1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DTS Output and Scaling

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by fatrich, Aug 28, 2001.

  1. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Can any one please advise me what do you need or do to get Dts out put from my hcpc, just put my hcpc together today still loading on the software i am using the pioneer dvd ide oem (slot model) and the sound card is a sound blaster 5.1 as advised by jeff how do you connect to the amp i use a coaxial cable normally. Iv'e got Roland from B4 projectors coming round next week and it would be nice if i could get it ready in time.Also can anyone advise about scaling how does it work within a hcpc.

    many thanks

    richard

    [ 28-08-2001: Message edited by: fatrich ]</p>
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Richard,

    For scaleing see <a href="http://www.dscaler.org" target="_blank">http://www.dscaler.org</a>

    For the DD/DTS thing I need more details such as OS, software DVD player, what have you tried and what problems are you getting.

    Jeff
     
  3. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Jeff<br />just down loaded win dvd 3 the dts version and installed it on to my computer the sad thing is that my new hcpc is at work (still setting it up) and all my home cinema equipment is at home, when you go in to the audio menu of win dvd 3 you get a list which is as follows:

    2 speaker mode<br />mono<br />stero<br />dolby surround compatable<br />virtual dolby digital<br />4 speaker mode<br />6 speaker mode (5.1 channel)<br />enable s/pdif output

    Dts is not an option but is that a case of it will come on automatically when put through a dts decoder/amp.Dts is displayed on the menu along with dolby digital, i just want to make sure it is properly installed.

    cheers

    richard

    [ 29-08-2001: Message edited by: fatrich ]</p>
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Richard,

    The DTS version of WinDVD 3.0 is a full DTS decoder, if you connect the sound card to an amp using coax or toslink then all you are doing is passing through DTS or DD. All you need to do is select spdif and it should work.

    Jeff
     
  5. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi Jeff<br />thanks for the advise just one other thing if that's ok will i need a mono rca 3.5 mini jack converter out of the back of the sound card or will the coaxial cable go direct in to the spdif, and if so are they expensive?

    Many Thanks

    Richard
     
  6. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Its very cheap, it goes on the end of a regular digital coax cable so that you can then connect to the spdif socket on the sound card.

    Jeff
     
  7. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Jeff<br />just rang maplins and they say they cost about £1.00 for the 3.5 mini converter but the guy i spoke to says he's not sure if it will out put dolby digital is he talking rot or have i described the wrong jack to him i told him i was after a mono rca 3.5 mini jack converter which i presume one end goes in to the spdif out put of the sound card and my van der hul coaxial cable goes in the other end of the jack converter.I also read a thread earlier about some one with an older sound card who was worried about the output level and damaging his amp,is it possible this could affect me and how can it be changed and at what level ( have a lexicon processor don't want to hurt it)

    many thanks

    richard
     
  8. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Anybody know how contact Roland B4 Brookes?.<br />Thanks....
     
  9. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +859
    fulabeer

    Click on his profile, his email address is there, its in his post in Projectors - Barco cine6 report.

    then again, you might already know that <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0">

    cheers

    Save you doing that- here it is roland@b4projection.co.uk

    [ 31-08-2001: Message edited by: Hooty ]</p>
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,983
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    Paul,

    Roland is on hioliday just now. I think he'll be back later today or tomorrow.

    Gordon
     
  11. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Richard,

    About a £1 sounds about right, as long as its mono its fine. as for the voltage thing, I couldn't tell you if it could possibly hurt you lexicon of not, but if you have a lexicon you shouldn't be using a £50 sound blaster anyway. You should be getting a MAudio audiophile or a Terratec EWX 24/96 like I have. I'm sure that you would hear the difference on a Lexicon. The audiophile is coax, the terratec toslink, the terratec is a bit cheaper over here (made in Germany vs US)

    Jeff
     
  12. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    A few things to try, are you sure that you are using the correct socket on the sound card, unless they are special digital computer speakers I'm not sure how you could get sound from them.

    On the SBlive your have to configure it to output sound via the spdif. This is done in the speaker setup if I remember, if think that you also have to go iinto an advanced setting and untick Dolby Digital (this is for decodeing not passthru).

    You also have to configure the software DVD player to output through the spdif. With WinDVD 2.6.4 you can do this in the audio properties menu, with 2.3 you have to use DVD Genie. Other software players have their own method.

    The next important thing is the OS, Windows 2000 is difficult to get working, but Windows 98 or ME should be fine. The stop start effect on DTS happens with some DTS tracks and WinDVD, if you 1st select DD start the movie and then go back into the menu and select DTS it should be fine.

    Jeff
     
  13. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Thankyou Jeff<br />have changed the output in the speaker setting from analog to digital, i am already using win me so when i get it home will give it another go.You mentioned the other day about why do i use sb 5.1 with a lexicon and not the audiophile sound card like your own i use a seperate cd player in to the lex not the hcpc but will the audiophile make a big difference for movies , how much is it and where did you get yours?.

    thanks

    richard
     
  14. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The soundcard does make a difference even with DVD in the same way that a highend DVD player will sound better than a cheap one (maybe even more so). There are 2 choices, the MAudio Audiophile and the Terratec EWX 24/96. I have the Terratec, it uses toslink rather than coax and is the cheaper of the 2 over here (Terratec more expensive in the US). Both cards are available from <a href="http://www.makingwavesaudio.co.uk/" target="_blank">http://www.makingwavesaudio.co.uk/</a>

    They aren't that great with games though so it depends what is most important.

    Jeff
     
  15. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Jim<br />Sorry to be a pain but the sound out put saga continues i went to maplins on Saturday to buy a 3.5mm mono mini jack to phono adapter which i placed in the sp/diff out put socket of the computer. i attached a coaxial cable (which i use in my every day system from a dvd player to a lexicon processor) from the mini jack to the lexicon processor and set the correct setting, started playing the dvd on the computer got a picture but no sound tried the obvious like volume levels on the computer and input connections on the lexicon still no sound.Plugged the computer speakers in through the sp/diff out put and it worked ok, i also tried dts out put and it would appear that it was outputting a signal ok but again no sound (the audio setting in win dvd stated it was outputting both dts and dolby digital when either or setting was selected with the appropriate disc), but i noticed when a dts disc was being played the picture went in to freeze frame sort of stop start it is a bit upsetting is there any chance of you helping with some advise.

    cheers

    richard

    [ 03-09-2001: Message edited by: fatrich ]</p>
     

Share This Page

Loading...