DTS on Denon 3802

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Tweeter, Dec 27, 2001.

Tags:
  1. Tweeter

    Tweeter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help? or am I being stupid!

    I have just bought and set up a Denon 3802. This replaces my ageing Yamaha DSP-A2070. So this is my first experience of dts.

    I have connected up my Kenwood DVF-5020 DVD player with every connection available (5.1 ext output. optical and coaxial digital). I have tried playing both Rush Hour 2 and the Return of the Mummy both of which are marked 'dts' but the 3802's dts indicator does not light up.

    Ive tried seting the digital output on the DVD player to both PCM and bitstream, still no joy.

    HELP!!
     
  2. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,924
    Have you set the Denon´s input mode to AUTO ??

    If not, try it.

    The dvd output should be set to Bitstream.

    Also make sure in the setup menu you have the Digital In Assignment set correctly.

    cheers
     
  3. Tweeter

    Tweeter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply Jase,

    Unfortunatley I have tried all you have suggested with no result. In auto mode the Dolby Digital indicater comes on but still no dts. I have tried both optical and coaxial digital inputs on the Denon 3802. The sound using the six analogue outputs from the DVD to the 3802's EXT. input is great, but I would like to try the dts ES with the seven speaker set up.

    Its probably something silly but I can't see what.

    Tweeter
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,087
    have you enabled "dts out" on your dvd player in the setup menu?? As you can enable/disable this option in many players.

    Are you selecting the DTS soundtrack in the setup menu of your film?? Default soundtrack is usually Dolby digital.
     
  5. Tweeter

    Tweeter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks mjn

    I new I was over looking something, just couldn't figure out what.

    You were right all I needed to do was to select dts in the disc menu.

    Again many thanks
     
  6. Tweeter

    Tweeter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks mjn

    I new I was over looking something, just couldn't figure out what.

    You were right all I needed to do was to select dts in the disc menu.

    Again many thanks
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,087
    no problem :)
     
  8. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    BTW: you do not need the 5.1 connection if you use coaxial or optical (again only one is required).
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice