Dscaler??

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, May 30, 2002.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Is it right that Dscaler only works with AGP cards?
    So, I installed it but does not recognise my Geforce3Ti2000?
    I understand that you can install a WinTV card (PCI) which will exit via the Geforce card thus giving good SKY piccys...so how will Dscaler spot the WinTV card if it is not AGP and if it doesn't already spot my Geforce.

    Chris
     
  2. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,602
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,466
    mmm your post kind of implies that you don't understand how DScaler works.
    DScaler takes the input from a WinTV card (usually PCI) and converts the signal (from composite or S-Video) into a progressive scan output to the PC monitor via whatever graphics card you have.
    There is no point in having DScaler without a Win TV card.
    The typical situation where you would use it is when your HCPC is connected to your projector and you use it primarily to watch DVDs with. To watch other sources (VHS, TiVo, Sky, Laserdisc, games consoles), you use DScaler to output them to the same projector in lovely progressivescan.
     
  3. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    You're right Spectre, I don't know anything about Dscaler..But I am learning quickly thanks to help form good guys like yourself....so ta very much.
     
  4. jonny m

    jonny m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Spectre

    I have a quick question, surely these wintv cards come with their own software to generate the required image on screen.

    Therefore why the need for dscaler??

    Asking out of ignorance.

    j
     
  5. Pootle

    Pootle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Most cards have hardware or software to help convert properly from interlaced to progressive scan, some don't do it at all (like the Hauppauge Nova-T cards), but in any event dscaler will nearly always do it much better (unless your into spending £20,000 pounds on a dedicated box to do it).

    LCD and DLP Projectors also can do it, but again Dscaler will almost always do it much better than the projectors own internal version.

    Go have a look here to see more.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice