Dscaler SPDIF setup?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by cj, Sep 12, 2004.

  1. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I know this has probably been asked a number of times, but my head hurts from my 9600XT problems...

    I have just rebuilt a HTPC with a Sweetspot and XCard. My motherboard is an Asus P4CE800-E deluxe that has an SPDIF out. I've connected this to my AV32R, and I'm getting Windows sounds OK e.g. games etc. However, when I play a DVD via XMP/DScaler, there's no sound. Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Colin
     
  2. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    The S/Pdif signal is coming out of the Xcard not your motherboard. Connect your AV32R to the Xcard - this will obviously mean you will not here your windows sounds but just media played back through your Xcard.
     
  3. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Is there anyway to make XMP use the SPDIF on my motherboard? That's going to be a complete pain if I have to keep swapping them :(
     
  4. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    Has the Asus got SPdif in?
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Nope, out only.......
     
  6. Nick Cartwright

    Nick Cartwright
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many SPDIF inputs does the AV32R have?

    Why not have the DVD in from the X-Card and a separate one (or even just PCM) for the other PC sounds.
     
  7. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    It has more than 2...... :D
     
  8. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Yeah it took me a while but I just came to the same conclusion - I have one digital input left :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice