1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dscaler SPDIF setup?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by cj, Sep 12, 2004.

  1. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I know this has probably been asked a number of times, but my head hurts from my 9600XT problems...

    I have just rebuilt a HTPC with a Sweetspot and XCard. My motherboard is an Asus P4CE800-E deluxe that has an SPDIF out. I've connected this to my AV32R, and I'm getting Windows sounds OK e.g. games etc. However, when I play a DVD via XMP/DScaler, there's no sound. Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Colin
     
  2. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    The S/Pdif signal is coming out of the Xcard not your motherboard. Connect your AV32R to the Xcard - this will obviously mean you will not here your windows sounds but just media played back through your Xcard.
     
  3. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Is there anyway to make XMP use the SPDIF on my motherboard? That's going to be a complete pain if I have to keep swapping them :(
     
  4. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Has the Asus got SPdif in?
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Nope, out only.......
     
  6. Nick Cartwright

    Nick Cartwright
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many SPDIF inputs does the AV32R have?

    Why not have the DVD in from the X-Card and a separate one (or even just PCM) for the other PC sounds.
     
  7. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    It has more than 2...... :D
     
  8. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Yeah it took me a while but I just came to the same conclusion - I have one digital input left :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...