Dscaler, is it me ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, Apr 16, 2004.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Or have I set it up wrong...
    Svideo straight into my Panny AE500 looks good..
    It, to me, looks not much better thru Dscaler?
    I have a fresh install and have it set to moscomp2.
    But to me it doesn't look that different.
    My setup is XP pro, 2100 Athlon and 256 memory with a PCTV rave capture card.
    Any suggestions? Or di I have to fork out a million squid on a new card...

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  2. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +63
    I'm surprised at that, but have no experience with that particular projector.

    What is your tv source? Sky+?

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Hello Chris now that HP3 is over I'll be getting the digibeta bacl to you along with the discrete frames I pulled off it on CD-R ( 4 of them I think) Sorry about the delay but it was a real firefight this one.

    You'll see a big improvement if you move to a better card. For under £50 you could get a pixelview Xcapture or a PB TV100 both regarded as being about as good as you get with an svideo only card ( I used to use Xcapture and it was light years better than a PCTV rave) . There are a few new ones out there now that are well respected.

    The sweetspot is great : allowing RGB or component capture and short of going SDI its unlikely you'll get better capture quality for the price but it is around the £200 mark last time I checked.

    I've got an Xcapture gathering dust in my HTPC now made redundant because of the sweetspot. ( I felt a little guilty just yanking it as it did give me very good service). However I could part with it and put it in with your digibeta: if you like it send me £20 ( was £50 but that was imported from the US probably about £35 new ) if not send me the card back.

    I've alos got a PB TV100 that got little use as I preferred the Xcapture come to think of it.
     
  4. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mr D,

    If chris doesn't want the xCapture card, I'll give you £20... perhaps you should put it in the classifieds?

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  5. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi
    Thanks for all responses.
    MrD. I will certainly give the Card a go :) I will send you the cash if it is a good'un ....Thanks for your help. Looking forward to HP3.

    The main input is Sky+

    The PCTV rave was given to me so I don't mind losing it.

    I will have a further twiddle with the dscaler settings at the weekend.

    Cheers all


    Chris
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    No worries I'll get it into the post along with the tape and CDRs
     
  7. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, no trading outside of the hardware classifieds please.

    :smoke:
     
  8. mooro1973

    mooro1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +174
    Funny, I read in avs, and it is my experience that the panny ae500 is much better with a svideo input than rgb scart. definately more noise with rgb.

    dvi though is a different matter. far less vb!
     
  9. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry Kramer.:blush:

    Ta MrD

    C
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice