1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dscaler, is it me ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, Apr 16, 2004.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Or have I set it up wrong...
    Svideo straight into my Panny AE500 looks good..
    It, to me, looks not much better thru Dscaler?
    I have a fresh install and have it set to moscomp2.
    But to me it doesn't look that different.
    My setup is XP pro, 2100 Athlon and 256 memory with a PCTV rave capture card.
    Any suggestions? Or di I have to fork out a million squid on a new card...

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  2. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +49
    I'm surprised at that, but have no experience with that particular projector.

    What is your tv source? Sky+?

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    Hello Chris now that HP3 is over I'll be getting the digibeta bacl to you along with the discrete frames I pulled off it on CD-R ( 4 of them I think) Sorry about the delay but it was a real firefight this one.

    You'll see a big improvement if you move to a better card. For under £50 you could get a pixelview Xcapture or a PB TV100 both regarded as being about as good as you get with an svideo only card ( I used to use Xcapture and it was light years better than a PCTV rave) . There are a few new ones out there now that are well respected.

    The sweetspot is great : allowing RGB or component capture and short of going SDI its unlikely you'll get better capture quality for the price but it is around the £200 mark last time I checked.

    I've got an Xcapture gathering dust in my HTPC now made redundant because of the sweetspot. ( I felt a little guilty just yanking it as it did give me very good service). However I could part with it and put it in with your digibeta: if you like it send me £20 ( was £50 but that was imported from the US probably about £35 new ) if not send me the card back.

    I've alos got a PB TV100 that got little use as I preferred the Xcapture come to think of it.
     
  4. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mr D,

    If chris doesn't want the xCapture card, I'll give you £20... perhaps you should put it in the classifieds?

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  5. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi
    Thanks for all responses.
    MrD. I will certainly give the Card a go :) I will send you the cash if it is a good'un ....Thanks for your help. Looking forward to HP3.

    The main input is Sky+

    The PCTV rave was given to me so I don't mind losing it.

    I will have a further twiddle with the dscaler settings at the weekend.

    Cheers all


    Chris
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    No worries I'll get it into the post along with the tape and CDRs
     
  7. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, no trading outside of the hardware classifieds please.

    :smoke:
     
  8. mooro1973

    mooro1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +164
    Funny, I read in avs, and it is my experience that the panny ae500 is much better with a svideo input than rgb scart. definately more noise with rgb.

    dvi though is a different matter. far less vb!
     
  9. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry Kramer.:blush:

    Ta MrD

    C
     

Share This Page

Loading...