DS Wireless connection help

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by Solomon Grundy, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,210
    Hi

    I can't seem to be able to connect my DS to my wireless router. I don't know where the instructions are so am completely stuck. I have Pokemon Pearl and try to follow the instructions when loading it to connect wirelessly but it seems to not want to do it...

    ...any suggestions please?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Tonye

    Tonye
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Umm..what model is your router?
     
  3. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,210
    it's a belkin
     
  4. Tonye

    Tonye
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Model number?
     
  5. fortean

    fortean
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    825
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Chorley
    Ratings:
    +71
    Your router may be set to use WPA encryption which the DS can't use. If this is the case then you will have to enable WEP encryption; which is less secure than WPA.
     
  6. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,210
    I'll try to sort it, thanks for the pointers...
     
  7. coluigi

    coluigi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +86
    And just to make you feel great WEP's about as secure as no security - in fact you should use WPA2, but Nintendo aren't great at implementing open standards.
     
  8. c4ble

    c4ble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok its time to help !!
    its very simple to set up wifi with the ds first load up a game with wifi enabled
    i used mario kart
    then goto this page
    http://www.nintendowifi.co.uk/custom...230-4.ENG.html
    now in the left drop down menu select ur router make and model
    note: some say not compatible ur snookerd at that point if it does
    if ur router is in the compatible list it will give instructions but for all routers same principal applies
    now in ur game goto wifi play wich should bring up the nintendo wifi settings
    if theres something in number 1 erase it click manual
    now at this point ur ds should detect the router and ask for a wep key!
    to obtain this ip into ur router as detailed from the page above
    goto security and there it is this cannot be blank or auto
    so make one up or if theres allready one in there copy it into the ds
    in the ds do not use the dots just type in the digits
    0 are zero not letter o
    some routers offer a passphrase conversion to make wep
    remember its the wep key and not the pasphrase u put in the ds
    after doing that load up this page http://www.nintendowifi.co.uk/gaming...tGamingHub.jsp
    and ur in business ----
    now some results of my experiments
    usb sticks dont work
    its set to only use official nintendo usb
    the ds does support all ranges of wep encryption i checked them
    do not make the mistake of setting ur router as a wireless access point as this will lose u connectivity keeep all settings as they are and just add a wifi is all ur doing the term access point is misleading and that option inside ur router will generally mess things up and lose ur internet connection

    hope this helps if u still stuck give me the model of ur router
    as written on the label underneath and i shall give u a router specific walkthru

    note to the noobs who used router wizard set up cd
    yes u can still ip in to it but ur wizard will not help u set up the ds
    so dont bother trying use the setup wizard
    if ur router is not in the list goto ur manufacturer website and download the manual
    u need this because not all routers use the same address to ip in
    my router http://192.168.2.1 would go in internet explorer address bar
    user and password blank for first time use
    this information will be in ur own manual

    very sorry for the extra large post but keep seeing silly questions and this should iron out some issues
     

Share This Page

Loading...