DS video cannot login

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Flamercze, Jul 2, 2015.

  1. Flamercze

    Flamercze
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Czech Republic
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello guys,

    I'm sorry for my really bad english. :) I have NAS DS215j and all is ok @ home (connect via DS video with Samsung TV etc.). With tablets @ home or from outside is all ok too with DS video, but problem is that my father cannot login via DS video from his TV (outside 200km away). He is trying login with same IP, login and password as me but he has some error msg about incorrect IP. He tried same with tablet and there isnt problem, problem is only with his TV. Could you help me with this please?

    I tried forward some ports in my router, but im not sure about IP and maybe i have to do something else.

    Thank you very much and sorry for my english :)!
     
  2. bubblegum57

    bubblegum57
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +313
    Is he on your LAN? Has he got a Samsung tv, with the DS video app? Which year tv, 2012 supported, or 2011 model by following instructions at synology

    If external LAN, have you got a DNS account. Synology has free one. Not sure iof external LAN will work.

    look at Quick connect on NAS

    I don't use this anymore, so these are ideas for you to look at.

    Plex might be an option, if you want to share the movies on your NAS.
     
  3. Flamercze

    Flamercze
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Czech Republic
    Ratings:
    +0
    He isnt on my LAN. Yes, he has a Samsung TV with the DS video app. I dont know year but he has model 7xxx. He tried launch DS video from USB and then install from Samsung apps and there isnt problem with install, only with login.

    His TV is connected to his internet (router) via wifi, not via cable.

    What is DNS account pls?

    Thanks for help :)!
     
  4. bubblegum57

    bubblegum57
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +313
    What should I know about DS video for Samsung Smart TV - Tutorials - Synology - Network Attached Storage (NAS)
    seems like the tv is compatible.

    Which ip address are you using?

    internal 192. etc or external? so, if using internal, it will never work

    DNS is basically, a way of a "name" using an external ip address, your & his external ip address will change every few days, so by signing up to a DNS service, you use the "name"
    (not very well explained, English is supposed to be my first language)

    Synology, has a free service.

    There is a quick connect thing on the NAS

    Access your Synology NAS over the Internet and share files

    you could try that. But I don't think it will work. try the sinology forums

    Or, perhaps Plex would be a better option, but again I don't know

    Read the synology forums, I don't think I can help anymore.
     
  5. Flamercze

    Flamercze
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Czech Republic
    Ratings:
    +0
    It works now, he was trying connect with my internal IP :). Thank You!
     
  6. bubblegum57

    bubblegum57
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +313
    Well, that's interesting, so he used your external ip address? Bear in mind, this will change, that's why a DNS service is a good idea, as I say, sinology can give you a free one, & it will set up your router.

    Thanks for the info
     
  7. Flamercze

    Flamercze
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    The Czech Republic
    Ratings:
    +0
    He used my PC IP... IP 83.XXX.XXX.XXX and its working now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...