1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dropped frames capturing in Final Cut Pro. Can you help?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Dear Mr Echo, Apr 21, 2005.

1. Dear Mr Echo

Dear Mr Echo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi
    I have a slight problem that I've tried to fix but haven't found a solution.

I'm just getting started with video editing (though I did a little a few years ago on Premiere). A friend has just lent me his SonyDCR-TRV460 digital8 camcorder and I've shot some "stuff" but I'm having problems with dropped frames when I'm trying to capture it with Final Cut Pro (capturing with iMovie is fine though). So far I have defragged my hard disc, backed up and deleted about 20GB of files (leaving just over 48GB free) and checked that the drive (Maxtor 6Y200P0 is fast enough... 7200 alledgedly). My Mac is 5 years old nearly - 2 x 500MHz G4 with 1.3GB (ish) of RAM - which I would have thought was adequate.

EDIT - Oh and I'm on OSX 10.3.8 - haven't done the latest update to 10.3.9 yet. And I'm connecting the camera via Firewire.

Anyone got any suggestions to remedy this... (please don't say buy a PC... please!). Any help would be very welcome

cheers
    Andrew

2. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey

You don't mention what version of FCP you've got.

You don't mention whether the frames have been dropped on cpature or are being dropped onplayback (same end result but different reasons for each occuring).

If the frames are dropped in the same place each time then it's a CAPTURE problem.

If the frames are dropped randomly then its a PLAYBACK problem.

CAPTURE
    There could be a couple of problems: