• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Drone Recommendations - Programmable for autonomous flight

and155

Novice Member
Hi there,

I am new to drones, but I am looking to purchase a drone which I can program to fly in a set pattern. Essentially this would be to fly in a circle measuring roughly 10ft in diameter at a certain height round a fixed point. I would also like it to be able to increase and decrease elevation along that route.

Can anyone provide me with information on a decent drone which is capable of this. It would need to have a decent camera (although doesn't necessarily need to be 4k) and ideally the data (images) can be sent automatically to a set destination.

Ideally this would need to be less that £1,000 and i'd be looking to purchase roughly 2,000 of these if they can be programmed in this way.

paulyoung666

Distinguished Member
Wow , I wish I could make them for you 😳 , have a bump on me because I’m not sure where you would start to be honest 🤔

and155

Novice Member
Thanks Paul, appreciate you taking the time to respond. I realise this is not very straight-forward, but hoping that someone has some experience in doing something similar. I know getting a drone to auto-pilot is pretty straight-forward, but this needs to be a repeatable process (bit like the autonomous vacuume cleaners) which can be done almost at the flip of a switch.

Hopefully someone out there can help :)

Leecm3

Novice Member
Have you looked a Mavic pro 2 and the skydio 2? There are some videos showing capabilities of these drones to do exactly what you are talking about.

noiseboy72

Distinguished Member