dr who no record on sky plus

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by rooney, Apr 16, 2005.

  1. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    3rd week in a row doctor who has not recorded on sky plus any ideas

    going on hols in a week for 2weeks dont wana miss it

    sky say no probs bbc blame sky :mad:
     
  2. Boy Lex

    Boy Lex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had an unexplained failure with the first show, then didn't bother with the rest. Weird. Has anyone successfully used the planner to record it?
     
  3. Randy_Badger

    Randy_Badger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    didnt record last week but did this week :D
     
  4. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    have u tried 2 play it back

    mine said it has recorded

    but as soon as u play it back u get
    failed recording unexplained error

    :suicide:
     
  5. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Haven't done it since but I had no problems recording and playing the second episode which was setup with series link after the first.

    John
     
  6. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    now the end of casualty has been missed

    again sky no answer

    fuming :mad:
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Recorded fine, no problems last week and no problems this week, (BBC1 East Midlands).

    Another screw up by the BBC in regards to the EPG data and the now&next info not matching perhaps leading to the SKY+ removing a scheduled recording since according to the information it receives via the EPG it's no longer on.
    If that program is then removed you of course do not get the series link activated for the following weeks.
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Does the now&next (S&S banner) info and time reflect the program that is currently on and the actual time?
     
  9. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    yes mate all the banners are correct time etc
     
  10. Randy_Badger

    Randy_Badger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    recorded and able to play back
     
  11. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Recorded and played back all episodes OK since #1. (Pace V1) This is not to say I've never had other things fail from time to time, cos I have. Either 'failed' or the series link sometimes has been 'lost'.
     
  12. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,533
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,346
    If you are getting this trouble with BBC1, why not set the planner to record the repeat on BBC3. Might solve your initial problem.
     
  13. Boy Lex

    Boy Lex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe this is the beebs way of telling us that we should be watching tv when it airs! Now a novel concept for me!!! I always seem to be 2 weeks behind the rest of the country! :D
     
  14. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Well that seemed to have been the root cause of the problems last week so maybe just a local issue with your setup perhaps, hard to solve if it is.

    I would consider wiping the hard drive and reloading the OS for a fresh start, of course you lose all your recordings but it's more or less the first step SKY would talk you through if you called them.
     
  15. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Apart from footy and the Euro based F1 races everything I watch gets recorded, sitting down and watching live along with the adverts/trailers/announcments is just plain wrong:)
     
  16. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Shhh..... the advertisers could read this ! Seriously though, we don't want the stupid situation in the 'states making live rewind (etc) illegal happening here ! :)
     
  17. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    :oops:
    You can indeed never be too careful.
    The new TIVO method of slapping an advert graphic on screen while you FF is bad enough.

    Funny though a SKY presentation actually indicated greater ad awareness and no significant reduction in ad viewing for SKY+ users.
    I would love to meet the focus group who gave them those results:)
     
  18. rooney

    rooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +33
    managed to record doctor who on bb3

    its getting wierd spoke 2 one of me mates who has sky digital hooked up 2 a dvd +r and he cdnt record it either just blank

    however one of my other mates with norm analog tv with old video did record it the beeb arnt puuting out macrovision sought of signals through digital are they the mind bogles :eek:
     
  19. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I haven't read any post that indicated the show wasn't actually on when viewed live so not sure why your friend didin't get it unless he was using autoview which again relies on the EPG data.
     
  20. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    The last weeks when recorded Doctor Who ,on play back the picture breaks up for the first coulpe of mins (N.Ireland)
     
  21. dave_myth_magic

    dave_myth_magic
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All,

    I have obviously been very fortunate in that every week Sky+ has successfully recorded all the episodes and this is recording on both the BBC1 and BBC3 editions. :)

    .............However!!.............................The problem is that the start time for the recordings, is running approximately a minute behind :thumbsdow ie. the opening credits are almost finished before it kicks in!! Anybody else experienced this?? Any ideas on how to stop this happening??? :lease:

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  22. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,884
    Are you using the padding option ? You can set it to start and end a specified number of minutes before the start time and after the end time.
     
  23. keaton

    keaton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't say doctor who is worth recording anyway, did you see last nights episode! Its the worst one yet!
     
  24. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Ditto here - my Sky+ has recorded all the BBC1 broadcasts without a hitch.

    I get this on a lot of channels, BBC, Sky, pretty much every channel i record from. I've got padding set to 2 minutes beforehand and most of the time it's ok, but other times it can miss pre-credit sequences. I remember that a couple of years back (well, possibly longer) there was a big hoo-ha about either BBC1 or ITV deliberately starting their programmes a minute or two earlier than scheduled - supposedly to try and retain viewers who might be tempted to channel hop.

    personally I think the regulators should stamp down on programmes not running to schedule - yes there might be exceptional cases where programmes have been disrupted due to newsflashes or sports overrunning, but those are comparatively rare occurances.
     
  25. Al-wick

    Al-wick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  26. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    We watched this ep on 'catch up, starting about five minutes before the live ending. I just checked our Skybox and we're showing status as 'viewed' but it's 0 minutes and will not play. Bugger.

    Mike.
     
  27. BarryEmmott@Baz

    BarryEmmott@Baz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Over the last seven or eight months I have had dozens of programs fail to record for no obvious reason. I have been in correspondence with SkyPlus and they say that there is a software problem and as soon as they can correct it the corrected software will be downloaded.
    The problem seems to occur mostly when I try to record a program which has already started but I didn't have this problem with my original box which SkyPlus replaced because the modem wasn't phoning them back with whatever they needed to know. However, so far as I was concerned the box worked a treat. I have had various problems with the replacement box ever since installation and it pi**es me off considerably when this expensive equipment fails (again) to record something I dearly want to watch again.
    The problem is not (so far as I'm concerned) confined to BBC and I wish they'd hurry up and fix the problem as I'm paying lots of money for a duff service !!
    Cheerz,
    Baz
    :thumbsdow
     
  28. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    :eek: :nono: :mad:
     
  29. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    All recordings fine for me,have it set for automatic and on series link,no probs.
    Live in London area (if that makes any difference).
     
  30. Jads

    Jads
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the 5th week in a row our sky plus box has stalled whilst recording dr who.

    The program was set to record (from series link) and as the program recorded ok and we could watch the playback up to the 45th minute of the episode but there were three problems.

    1. The sky plus box would not stop recording even well after the programme had finished.

    2. We could not watch any playback after the 45th minute

    3. No other sheduled recordings in our planner could proceed.

    The only workaround seems to be removing the power from the sky plus box and rebooting that way.

    Doh ! any ideas ?

    John.
     

Share This Page

Loading...