Downsizing if possible

Phillyo118

Good evening all,

I have been listening to my Monitor Audio Silver 8's for a few years now and I do love them, however as much as I like listening to music on them I also use them for films and TV watching. I'm looking to upgrade my TV from a 55" to a 65" in the near future and because the TV is wall mounted and due to the location of the speakers (room limitations sadly) if I increase the TV size to 65" the Silver 8's will be too tall and block the view of the corners of the TV. The TV is wall mounted.

So, can anyone suggest a suitable replacement to the Silver 8's that have a smaller profile but still produce the same kind of quality audio (or better). Also, if I switch brands to something else, will it make a large difference watching movies in 5.1.2 with the centre and surrounds all being Monitor Audio?

I guess budget is probably around £1500ish?

Thank you,
Phil.

password1

Silver 50 with a sub?
Silver 200 with a sub?
Studio with a sub?
Gold 100 with a sub?
Silver 100 with a sub?

Ideally the front 3 speakers should be as close match as possible.

Paul7777x

Have you a photo of the room from your listening position?

As you already have a sub then considering stand mounts is perfectly ok in that you won’t lose any scale once the sub is integrated properly.

Phillyo118

Thank you all for the replies.

I'll look into the bookshelf/stand mount speakers. I hadn't really thought of that as I've had towers and they've just sounded so good. Especially with movies. Will standmounts give the same kind of impact as towers while watching movies?

I've attached a couple of pictures (wide angle) of the room. It is 4.4m x 3.4m in size (2.4m high). The reason I hadn't thought of stand mounts is just the proximity to the entrance. I don't want someone (or a dog, I have two) to accidently knock them over on the way in.