1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Doubler/scaler newbie Question...

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cessquill, Mar 29, 2004.

  1. cessquill

    cessquill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi - I'm feeding an Ellie 2000 CRT Projector with S-video and Composite signals from a Sony Receiver (Sony DVD, Sky box, PS/2, VCR).

    Not knowing too much about teh science of the whole thing I'm wondering whether adding something like an iScan Pro before the CRT would make much of a difference? Or is there anything else on the market that would hop it up? CRT has a VGA input if that helps.

    If answering bear in mind that I've all ready told you more than I know, but I'm willing to learn! :)
     
  2. cessquill

    cessquill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Anyone put an iScan Pro up to an Ellie? Is it compatible?

    I've searched through these forums but can't really find a concrete answer - I don't want to start any wars like some that I've found, I'm just trying to learn about stuff.

    Any help...? :)
     
  3. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +134
    Hi,

    I'd have thought that someone else would have picked up on this by now.

    If your projector can handle a vga signal from a computer, then it will be able to take an iScan. I'm not familiar with your particular projector but you can check the horizontal and vertical frequencies to check this. If it can do 32kHz horizontal at 50 and 60Hz vertical then you can do line doubled (deinterlacing) which is essentially what the iScan does. Can you feed it with a 640x480 resolution from a pc ? With the new IScan HD scaler around there should be some good deals on earlier models like the pro and Ultra on the classified forums.

    Brian
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,001
    Brian,

    The Ellie has its own line doubler so it can do this. However a couple of years ago when Ellies appeared more popular there were, if I rememebr correctly, posts from folk who had tried external video processors and had issues.

    I would suggest that the guys at ScreensUK who distribute Ellie would be best to answer this query definatively.

    Gordon
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,001
  6. cessquill

    cessquill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Cheers guys. I'll look into it. Gordon - the link in your post takes me straight back to this one - unless I'm doing something wrong...? :confused:

    The Ellie specs say that it can cope with certain types of VGA input, but it looks to be a suck it and see situation. Will probably call ScreensUK later.
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,001
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,001
  9. cessquill

    cessquill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hmm. Interesting. With the second hand prices and demands the way they are I might be able to pick one up and get shot if it doesn't do the trick without losing too much.
     
  10. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +134
    Hi Gordon,

    Thanks for updating cessquill. I'm not familiar with the Ellie so I was speculating on the fact that it has a vga input which would suggest that it's not a video only machine.

    Brian.
     
  11. cessquill

    cessquill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    It does have a VGA input, but the user manual is a bit on the vague side as to whether it'll work. It lists a couple of specific graphics cards and says if it's compatible with these standards you should be OK. Hmm.

    It can be set to VGA (31.5 KHZ, 640x480), VESA (36 KHZ, 800x600), XGA (35.5 KHZ, 1024x768) and the horizontal frequencies on a compatibility chart range from 30.303 to 37.879 - verticals from 59.95 to 86.96.

    Cheers guys - might give Jim a call later. Failing that, I've got two hopes...
     
  12. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,001
    Bob and No.....ah the oldies are goodies.

    It has bandwidth to do this. Little Iscan Pro will outperform what is inside it. You will need to re-converge lots of memories.

    Gordon
     
  13. cessquill

    cessquill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    After getting the Ellie back from repair (70 pence capacitor blown in the power line) and using the internet, a bit of logic and a lot of patience to reset the machine up myself I'm getting a bit of a demon at converging, so I don't mind.

    To top that the room is not very big so the Ellie is as far back as it can go. You can only get to see the potentiometers on the back with a make up mirror. Oh, the fun I've had, and the amount of times I've hit my head...

    I'll keep my eyes peeled on here and ebay. Thanks again. And again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...