1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Doom 3

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by petrolhead, Jan 5, 2003.

  1. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Any idea when this will be released. Some say 2004!!
     
  2. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    When its ready.....:blush:
     
  3. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Hmmm a joker in the pack ;)
     
  4. Nitro

    Nitro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just download the leaked demo sometime ago, but i can't played it..:(
     
  5. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Think you need a pentium 7 with 10 gigs of ram and a 400 gig hard drive as a minimum :(
     
  6. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Nitro

    Do you have the URL for Doom 3
     
  7. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    the leaked demo worked fine for me :)
     
  8. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    So come lads - where can I get this demo??
     
  9. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    well, its illegal so id probably say off someone who looks like long john silver ;)
     
  10. Goose74

    Goose74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romsey
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have this demo and with my new PC I can get it running fine at 30-40 fps in 1152

    The wierd thing is that even at 30fps it feels smoother than q3 at 70

    great lighting...

    Got a 2.8g and Radeon 9700

    It will be a cool game
     
  11. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ha ha! no wonder its running fine with a PC like that mate :p
     
  12. Goose74

    Goose74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romsey
    Ratings:
    +12
    yeah, Im pretty happy with it

    I still play doom I and II though (doomsday)
     
  13. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    whats the full spec mate?

    It played fine on mine to be honest: gf4 ti4400 128meg, xp2200+, 512meg ddr
     
  14. Goose74

    Goose74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romsey
    Ratings:
    +12
    Its a Dell
    P4 2.8
    512 DDR
    120 GB HD
    Radeon 9700 (non pro) (dell call it TX)
    This is basically a 9700 pro with slightly slower clock speed (which you can overclock easily)
    DVD+RW etc
    19inch monitor

    Im going to get another 512 DDR Ram soon

    Wolfenstein, Team Arena, JK2 etc look great - I can play these with 16 x ani and between 4-8 X FSAA

    I get around 13500 points in 3d mark 2001 SE build 330

    hope this helps
     
  15. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    cool :) nice system there mate
     
  16. holtehero

    holtehero
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    Remember the leaked beta will not of been optimised at all, hence it will run pretty choppy on anything less than a developer spec machine

    From what else i have read, i reckon you will need a 2.8Ghz P4 or an equivalent AMD chip as a processor.

    Plus... One of the next gen GFX cards such as Geforce FX or ATI R350 if you want high detail, aliasing and filtering turned on.

    Mind you if you look at the technology roadmap for 2003, then the latest hardware should run it like a dream
     
  17. Nitro

    Nitro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try to looking for it on Kazza or programs similars to that.

    Well i have a Pentium III 700, 512ram, a 40GB, and GeForce 2 MX 64MB.
     

Share This Page

Loading...