1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dont use duracell Batteries for sky +

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by derbyjj, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. derbyjj

    derbyjj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rainhill
    Ratings:
    +19
    URGENTURGENT do not use Duracell Batteries in your Sky + remote control ! Tonight I was told by Lorraine of Sky Cust services that they were the cause of the rc losing its tv setup. Not the same story as Russel the week before who said that the problem was caused by duff batteries. Wonder if Duracell are aware that sky think their products are not suitable for their RC's. Any one any similar experiences ??
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,518
    Ha ha...thats well funny!!

    April 1st is 4 weeks away yet!
     
  3. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +721
    All AA batteries output 1.5V and gradually lose power near the end of their life! What makes duracell so special that could affect the Sky+ controller.

    Someone will probably come up with a technical explaination for it and prove me wrong, but this is surely utter rubbish.

    I've always had duracell in mine for the last 7 years or so, and never had a single problem.
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well, at least they didn't blame it on static (their usual excuse). Maybe someone ought to tell Duracell that Sky is libelling their products ?
     
  5. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's a classic,when i worked for Sky they were blaming Pace STB lock up's on "static" when us service engineers had technical info on them blaming bad RAM and telling us to uplift the faulty boxes!! "Static" on the viewing card was another classic!!!!
     
  6. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
  7. derbyjj

    derbyjj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rainhill
    Ratings:
    +19
    I e-mailed Gilette this morning if they reply I'll post it
     
  8. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,469
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    The batteries supplied with Sky+ remotes leak!! Then you have to buy another remote!!

    This happened to me. It was still within warranty so I requested new one.
    They sent me a refurbished one, which when I looked inside had part of the
    connections in the battery compartment melted by acid!! I rang them up &
    had a go, so eventually they sent a new one!

    I've never had problems with Duracell & they don't leak.
     
  9. derbyjj

    derbyjj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rainhill
    Ratings:
    +19
    AS Promised the response from Duracell
    Dear Mr Derbyj.
    Thank you for your contact concerning the information you have received
    regarding the usage of Duracell batteries in your Sky remote.
    I was most concerned to hear that you had been advised against using
    Duracell batteries as they are too powerful. There is absolutely no
    technical foundation for this statement and we appreciate you bringing the
    latter to our attention.
    I should like to take this opportunity to reassure you that we have
    stringent controls in place throughout the production process to ensure the
    maintenance of the highest standards.
    Duracell batteries are manufactured to an established international standard.
    Thank you for your interest in our product.
    If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.
    Robbie Turner
    Consumer Relations Department
    4594221A
     
  10. nathanhill69

    nathanhill69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Well, such a prompt and considered response puts many companies customer services to shame - maybe Sky could learn a thing or two.
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Somehow I don't think Gillette gets thousands of voice calls and emails every day asking them why the batteries no longer work:)
    CS support I suspect is quite a small department in regards to Duracell and you certainly don't need to train people to try to talk Duracell buyers out of purchasing normal zinc/carbon batteries:)


    I would love to know if they get in touch with SKY themselves.
     
  12. Clabs

    Clabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    This is well funny - really made me chuckle. Mind you, not nearly as funny as the bloke in curry's during a recent visit who told me that plasma screens were a pain as they had to be brought back every 2 years to top up the plasma. Decided to wind him so said I had heard the same thing and that I had read that there was a top up cap on them. It was a real treat whatching him spend 10 minutes looking round the back for it! pmsl!
     
  13. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    don't forget that rechargable AA's aren't 1.5v they are only 1.2v

    Gary
     
  14. MikeRJ

    MikeRJ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +1
    Brilliant! I was in Curry's at Christmas and overheard an elderly couple asking a salesdrone which DAB radio they should buy. Salesberk goes onto to show them a range of standard FM receivers that just had a digital frequency display "you can't tell these receive digital because of the display". Felt compelled to step in and prevent the poor old souls being sold the wrong thing.
     
  15. rasb0

    rasb0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Last year when I began looking in to DLP rear projection I was looking, in Currys - Bury, at the first LG 44" DLP (Non-HDMI so didn't bother in the end....but anyway) and I asked the assistant,
    Me: "Does it have component input?" since the rear panel couldn't be accessed.
    S/A: :confused: "You mean scart?"
    Me: "No, component, 3 seperate jacks for a better quality video feed "
    S/A: :D "oh I know, you mean the red, white and yellow plugs."
    Me: :rolleyes: "No, I mean COMPONENT plugs, red, blue and green!"
    S/A: :confused: "Nope, don't know what you mean, never heard of that. Let me go and ask someone."
    Wife: :mad: "are you winding him up!"
    Me: : ;) "No but I'm havin' fun." :devil:
    Wife: :mad: Come on we're going before he gets back!"

    I can see where this thread is headin'. HI-JACKED fo Monkey tales!
     
  16. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Some people will believe anything. A guy I used to know ran a TV shop, and quite often people would come in asking him advice on how to solve technical problems. If someone said that their picture was "rolling", his standard joke reply was "Stick a drawing pin in the screen, that should fix it". Most of the time people would see the joke, but quite often their reaction would be "Oh that's a good idea, I'll try that" :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...