1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Don't Fujitsu Plasmas have DVI input?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by jrosado, Aug 23, 2004.

  1. jrosado

    jrosado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi:

    I've a Panny TH-42PW6 with a DVI board, wich i use to connect my dvd player.

    I've the chance of selling this plasma and i was considering a Fujitsu. The main point is that it seems to me that the european versions of Fujitsu plasma don't have a DVI input. Is there any board that we can had with this input? Or only the American guys have that luck?

    Regards,

    J. Rosado
     
  2. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Nope, only the americans I'm afraid. Why selling the panny?
     
  3. jrosado

    jrosado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi:

    Thanks for confirming.

    The only reason to sell the panny was because of the AVM in the fujitsu. since fujitsu here in Europe does not have the DVI input :thumbsdow , i will stay with the panny :clap:

    Regards,

    J. Rosado
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    next gen fujitsu will have DVi/HDMI inputs
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Why don't you just buy a scaler to feed your Panasonic. If you chose wisely you may find it stuffs AVM processing anyway!

    Gordon
     
  6. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Gordon you just beat me to it!! What he said.
     
  7. Stephen Wilde

    Stephen Wilde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +93
    Which scaler would do a noticeably better job than my Fuji 5004 AVM processor ?
    Some time ago MAW thought the difference would be marginal.
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Well you need to try some. I've only tried a scaler on two AVM Fuji's and both dealers I was at saw the difference for the better.

    Gordon
     
  9. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    MAW may have been referring to a specific model some time ago e.g. iScan Pro or possibly even Ultra at it's higher price not being an entirely worthwhile upgrade. Since then better models from other manufacturers have come onto the scene. I'd wager that any of the current crop of high end video processors will give a significant improvement for your system!

    Although I'm sure the last thing you need is a case of "upgraditus expensivus" where you thought you were already free from the bug!!! ;)
     
  10. Stephen Wilde

    Stephen Wilde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +93
    I don't mind upgraditus if there is a benefit to be seen. How can I get to see a suitable demo ?
    Or I could just wait for 1920x1080 plasmas and hi def material.
    Would like an interim arrangement though!
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Hi guys, been on holiday, while you take my name in vain. I do recall the thread, and I think it was concerning an iscan ultra, which I did not think worthwhile. But have now seen an HD on a Fujitsu VHA30, and yes, it stuffs AVM. It damn well should too, at the price. I am quite certain that Gordon's Lumagens will do the same. The difference between an analogue and a digital connection I do find marginal with a scaler, TBH when I met Gordon recently, whilst I was intrigued that he managed to get my PWD6 to give a picture on DVI, I did not find it to be a breathtaking improvement on my HD on analogue VGA. But then it was on beta software, there may very well be more to come.

    Stephen, I take it you must be a young man if you are prepared to wait for a 1920x1080 plasma? Sometimes I wonder if I will be pushing up the daisies before I see one!
     
  12. Stephen Wilde

    Stephen Wilde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +93
    I'm 55 next month. Do you think I'll make it ?
    Surrey, Kent and Lanarkshire are too far away from Cheshire to get a demo of scalers. Is there anyone nearer ?
    I remember black and white 9" TVs with BBC only and a fuzzy picture at best. I love these new toys!
     

Share This Page

Loading...