Domino 30 hdmi upgrade

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by kambo, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. kambo

    kambo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Does anyone know if it is possible to upgrade Domino 30 dlp purchased last december to accept hdmi. I have read previous threads but no details or prices. My local retailer knows nothing about such an upgrade.

    is it possible to upgrade at local retailer or is a factory return job?

    also, i have read about firmware upgrades. what benefits do these give to an already impressive projector.

    kambo
     
  2. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    kambo,

    the unit would have to go back to Sim2.

    I will try and get a price for you next week.

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  3. Steve Stifler

    Steve Stifler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,904
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Leatherhead
    Ratings:
    +934
    If its possible to upgrade, I would recommend it. I'm very happy with my 30H and its HDMI images are very good indeed. Apart from the 3 chipper, there's nothing I've seen that gives any significant improvement.

    Go for it if you can.
     
  4. TT9

    TT9
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jeff,

    Were you able to come back with a price for this request ? I may be very interested myself in upgrading this already fine machine if the price is right.

    Thanks,
    Steve.
     
  5. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Steve,

    Hope you're good.

    The figure that's been mentioned for the upgrade is around £800.
    Unfortunately it's not a simple job as it involves a new back panel, new connection panel, new formatter board and so on.

    Hope this helps

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  6. Timclem

    Timclem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Carlisle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jeff,

    Do you know if this upgrade is available for the 300Plus. It has a DVI input but unfortunatly it isn't HDCP compliant. What concerns me is future compatibility with HD formats as it seems very likely that these will be a digital (with HDCP) only connection.
     
  7. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Tim,

    As far as I'm aware it would be the same scenario as the Dominos, ie. new back panel, new connection board and a new formatter board.


    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  8. TT9

    TT9
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jeff,

    If this is upgrade is still possible, can you PM me with the details please. I would like to go ahead with this.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Steve.
     
  9. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    Steve,

    If you get in touch with Alan Roser at Sim2 UK Ltd on 01825 750850 or email at [email protected] , he will discuss it with you.

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  10. TT9

    TT9
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Jeff,

    I am without any visuals due to DVD service (from IAG :boring: ) which could mean a while !

    Seems like the right time to do this. Thanks for the contact details, I'll let you all know how I get on.

    Regards,
    Steve.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice