• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Dolby TrueHD

hackers2010

Standard Member
Hi

I have a Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray player that is connected via HDMi to an Onkyo AVX-380. Both support Dolby TrueHD, yet I am still unable to get this working.

I am totally new to all this so forgive me for being a little vague.

Can anyone put me on the right track?

Many thanks in advance.

PSM1

Distinguished Member
What settings are you using or have you tried (on both amp and player)? If the player is decoding the HD audio and then sending via HDMI then you will not get the HD audio light on the amp but you will be listening to HD audio. Have you selected the TruHD soundtrack on the bluray?

hackers2010

Standard Member
Thanks for the reply.

I couldn't see any settings in the 'Sound Settings' for True HD on the Sony, just DTS and PCM etc

Although it says on the Spec for the player that it supports it.

Where would I select the TrueHD soundtrack to?

Sorry again for being vague, this is all new to me!!

Thanks for your help.

davepuma

Distinguished Member
On your player go to the Audio Settings Menu and ensure Audio (HDMI) is set to Auto and BD audio mix is Off

If your receiver is in Auto mode it will decode whatever is input.

What settings are you using on the player at present as this should be your first port of call?

hackers2010

Standard Member
I have got the Audio (HDMi) set to Auto already.

I will check the full settings when I get home and post them up.

The receiver though is only showing the normal Dolby Digital logo and not the TrueHD.

DevonTony

Established Member