Dolby True HD decoding and DTS-HD

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by joeloaded, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. joeloaded

    joeloaded
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just trying to get this right.Do the blu ray players not decode Dolby True HD and DTS-HD not the receiver? If so why do you need a receiver that is capable of decoding True HD and DTS-HD.Is this not a way to get people buying recievers which say they decode these formats when really the player does the job!
     
  2. jon1

    jon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    out in the sticks
    Ratings:
    +170
    The samsung bd-p1400 decodes true-hd and dts-hd in the player but dose not decode dts-hd master



    jon
     
  3. joeloaded

    joeloaded
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    so if blu ray player does not decode true hd and amp does it will be able to too?so is it worth getting one with newer HD formats?Or will it send it out in pcm format and HD is not used?
     
  4. jon1

    jon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    out in the sticks
    Ratings:
    +170

    1....The amp will only decode true-hd if the blue-ray players send it across as bitstream.by the HDMI..if the player dose not decode true-hd

    2...if the player decodes true-hd ...but cannot bitstream the is goes across a PCM by the HDMI to the amp

    3...The best thing to do is buy a blue-ray player that bitstreams ...and one of the new amps that decodes the hd sound formats..that will do for your sd sound formats dd..dts as well.



    Jon
     
  5. joeloaded

    joeloaded
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    cheers for reply jon2.
    Just really looking have ordered the onkyo 605 and i have a ps3 which says it decodes True HD and dts so really the amp doesn't need to do the job.But the onkyo 605 does not do THX which i would of liked.There is a pioneer VSX1017 which does THX and DTS but not True HD so in the middle at mo what to do.The PS3 can decode True HD so the amp does not need to have this.Is that right?I think the pioneer 1017 looks nicer than the onkyo 605.
     
  6. jon1

    jon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    out in the sticks
    Ratings:
    +170

    Joe the 605 would do nicely stick with that ....a lot more future proof for the hd-sound formats...do you really need THX?
    ...The amp must be able to Handel PCM over HDMI for the ps3 to get true-hd

    Jon
     
  7. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Will an onkyo/samsung receiver work with a Sony tv and sony speakers!?
     
  8. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    No the digital (optical) wire wont work.Il have to get an hdmi adapter thing to connect to tv and AV receiver.cant use component wires because they dont support XV colour.Might buy the Onkyo TX-SR605
     
  9. angelislington

    angelislington
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +234
    Neither does Blu-Ray.
     
  10. DeadKenny

    DeadKenny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +33
    Effectively transcoding to PCM rather than actually getting true TrueHD out of the amp, but the result in theory is the same being lossless. A considerable waste of bandwidth though down the cable as TrueHD is compressed, but PCM isn't.

    DTS-HD MA from the PS3 is a non-starter by the way. The PS3 doesn't decode it and doesn't bitstream it.

    It will I believe however play the "core" DTS-HD stream (I think again converted to PCM?). The label 'HD' is pushing it as it's little different to full bitrate DTS on ordinary DVD.

    Of course if you don't have HDMI, the PS3 will not give you HD audio.

    Ideally you want a player that does full HDMI bitstreaming of all HD audio formats, and/or has internal decoding and outputs multi-channel PCM lossless over HDMI and/or outputs HD audio via analogue cables (latter being ideal for older or more "audiophile" kit. You know the kind, with valves and stuff! :D)


    THX? Essentially a gimmick / brand, depending on your point of view. In amps it may add a bunch of processing features (personally I turn all these DSP settings off and just listen to the true stream), but true THX really requires you to have all THX kit including THX speakers and a personal appearance by the bearded wonder himself to approve your home cinema environment for THX standard ;)
     
  11. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    yes but there is one hdmi out on a PS3.If i get a none sony av receiver then putting the hdmi cable into the receiver then from the receiver to the tv.Will this still make X.V colour work along with dolby true HD?I cant connect component to the TV as it will not transfer X.V colour only hdmi 1.3a or above can do that.
     
  12. angelislington

    angelislington
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +234
    Blu-Ray discs have to be encoded with Xv colour (or whatever it's called today) AND the whole chain of components has to have Xv colour chipsets.

    As the mastering studios cannot produce discs with Xv colour at the moment (and are unlikely to do so), there seems little point chasing after a technology that does not exist.
     
  13. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    OK thanks.I think il get the HT-SF1100 a samsung receiver that plays dolby true HD the Sony bravia kdl 40x3000 and then that will finally be sorted...
     
  14. angelislington

    angelislington
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +234
    Regardless of whether the PS3 and your Bravia have Xv chipsets because the discs themselves do not contain Xv colour information, you will not be viewing an Xv colour encoded picture.

    I would connect your PS3 via HDMI to your amp and then the same to your TV.
     
  15. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well doing this il be future proof whatever happens.All at the price of getting a 40inch tv instead of a 46".
     
  16. simon69c

    simon69c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +100
    Do you mean the Sony HT-SF1100? I can't find any reference to a Samsung receiver with that model number. The Sony unit is a "home cinema in a box" affair, and although it has 2 HDMI inputs, it is purely an HDMI switch and doesn't accept audio via them (and certainly doesn't do Dolby TrueHD decoding).
     
  17. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    No the Samsung receiver is called AV- R720
     
  18. FiremanSimon

    FiremanSimon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello if it helps I have the Onkyo 805 and the Samsung 1400 blu ray player and between the pair of them I have DTS HD Master Audio.

    Thanks
    Simon
     
  19. simon69c

    simon69c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +100
    Hope you've not got it yet! I've just looked and it doesn't do Dolby TrueHD or dts MA. It doesn't accept audio over HDMI either as it is only an HDMI switch.

    The cheapest amp that will decode Dolby TrueHD and dts MA is the Onkyo 605 (~£350-400), and the cheapest amp that will accept PCM over HDMI is the Sony STR-DG910 (~£275).
     
  20. Phill1978

    Phill1978
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +84
    but will the Pioneer VSX-1017AV accept a PCM trueHD stream from PS3 via HDMI ?

    i also like the look and feel of the pioneer.
     
  21. simon69c

    simon69c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +100
    The Pioneer 1017 is just an HDMI switch I believe - so no PCM via HDMI.
     
  22. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
  23. simon69c

    simon69c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +100
    Oops! :oops: Must admit I was having trouble navigating the Samsung site as I don't have the required flash version on my work's PC so I was having to go by other sites - all of which indicated that it was merely a switch. You're quite right, the Samsung site does state that it can handle HDMI PCM (as does the downloadable manual).
     
  24. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    It degrades the power of the subwoofer from 285watts to 150watts.Or if im using 5.1 instead of 7.1 wouldn't it become the full 285 watts of the it should be?Well if its much cheaper than the onkyop I'l get it.
     
  25. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can a component cable transfer 24p?
     
  26. simon69c

    simon69c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +100
    I believe so. Component will quite happily deal with 1080i50 from a SkyHD box, so in terms of bandwidth 1080p24 should be fine. May depend on the particular player though as to whether it outputs 1080p24 via component as well as HDMI.
     
  27. Oli2k

    Oli2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    I gave up on the PS3 and I've gone for the samsung 1400 and toshiba ep35 and i'm getting DTS-HD MA out of both of them. Just running out of films now :eek:

    Oli :thumbsup:
     
  28. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Iv just spotted something strange.One of the Sony blu-rayer players the BDP-S500

    can decode Dolby True HD and can send it bitstream out.Please help me understand this.
     
  29. simon69c

    simon69c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +100
    It's just saying the S500 can do both. It can either bitstream the TrueHD track for a compatible amp to decode it, or the player can decode it itself and output as PCM to the amp. Note that the S500 can't do dts Master Audio though (either bitstream or decode). It can do dts HD High Resolution Audio, but that isn't the same thing - it's a slightly inferior codec as it is lossy, and very few discs use it (kind of the dts equivalent of Dolby Digital Plus).
     
  30. !TV!

    !TV!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can the PS3 decode dolby true Hd and send it through hdmi as loseless Linear PCM?
     

Share This Page

Loading...