1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dolby Pro Logic 2 - how good is it

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Blenky, Jun 12, 2003.

  1. Blenky

    Blenky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hove, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    I currently have a three year old Yamaha DPL/DD5.1/DTS AV receiver. I am toying with the idea of upgrading.

    I notice most amps now have DPL2 as standard. Is it any good? How does it compare to DPL1?

    How does DTS neos compare? Is it worth having?

    Any suggestions on replacement would be appreciated.

    Tempted to get a new Yamaha as I have been well impressed with my ccurrent one:)

    Thanks.
     
  2. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +450
    How good is it? Answer: Very

    Seriously it's way better then DPL I

    at least it is in my humble opinion.

    Steff
     
  3. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How often do you use Pro-Logic?

    I only have one DVD film with Pro-Logic (Akira Jap) although I use Logic 7 which is supposed to be better than Pro-Logic II & DTS Neo.

    If all your DVD films are Dolby Digital & DTS, and not Pro-Logic, and you never use Pro-Logic from broadcast TV then no point loosing money & buying another amp.
     
  4. Blenky

    Blenky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hove, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    A lot of output I watch is DPL1 from TV. So enhancement to this would be good if it is worth it.
     
  5. stranger

    stranger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,020
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +696
    it's worth it-speach from tv is clearer as well as surround enhancements
     
  6. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    682
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +58
    I didn't think it was going to make much difference but PLII really does work well on TV signals.
     
  7. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    I use it mainly with games, both PS2 and GC are enhanced significantly by PLII.
     
  8. 50/50

    50/50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    still not as good as true stereo sound. The bass in PLII is terrible, and the sound quality isnt as good as the source. But this might be something to do with my Receiver.
     
  9. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +450
    50/50 ... depends what you're using DPLII for ... for music I agree stereo is the way to go (unless it's proper multi-channel music) but for TV stuff DPLII is better than stereo.

    Vikki
     
  10. Blenky

    Blenky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hove, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Thanks for the input guys.

    Just ordered a Yammy RXV440RDS from unbeatable for £220. I will find out for myself soon!
     
  11. steve_worthing

    steve_worthing
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Worthing, sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the subject of Yamaha receivers, can anyone say what model a Htr5640 is? I'm well confused. I realise the 4 digits denote silver or titanium finish but I've read this one is 6-channel like all the new "40" series but it's like cheaper. Guess it's only 65wpc - does it have an older processor or something? It's not in the (old) yamaha catalogue either. Guess it's from the 20 series?
    Steve
     
  12. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    I can't really speak from experience, but my impression from others is that PLII is very good when you're listening to something on TV that is being broadcast in Dolby Surround. It's less clearcut for a plain stereo source.
     
  13. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blenky

    How is the new Yamaha amp?
     
  14. damtom1

    damtom1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I find the main benefits of PL2 ,are all related to watching normal tv broadcasts.Both PL2 and Neo 6 ,really do bring standard broadcasts to life.But....i've just watched "The Blue Planet",only a stereo soundtrack,from the BBC.With Neo6 and PL2,the whole programme was very atmospheric(a massive difference,and improvement from Pro logic.....i wouldnt be with out now.
     
  15. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Neo 6? I have this option on my Yammy 640. Is this what I should use for normal nicam broadcast ie TV and SKY. The manual does not really give much info. I have been using PL II movie mode, what does Neo 6 give? Is it assuming 6.1 as I only have 5.1? Thanks
     
  16. Blenky

    Blenky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hove, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Don't know - just ordered it:)

    Don't know how quick Unbeatable are but the web site syas 7 to 14 days so could be waiting awhile :boring:
     
  17. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Neo 6 is the dts version of Pro Logic II - only difference being, if you have a EX/ES set up with a surround back speaker(s) in place, Neo 6 will utilise that surround back speaker as well - whereas PLII won't.
    My opinion is that PLII sounds better than neo 6 with nicam PL broadcasts, but avoid PLII music like the plague as music sounds sooooo much better in it's native stereo...unless it's a Queen DVDA - which is a different story completly...:smoke:
     
  18. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Scuse my ignorance but what is EX / ES. I currently have the Yammy 640 and Mission Fs1's (used to have proper floor standers but run out of room due to Tv upgrade), Have I got EX / ES?
     
  19. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dolby Digital Surround EX and DTS ES? Yes you do have them...I suggest the read the manual that came with your 640 - Yamaha manuals are better than me at explaining the extended surround formats...But with the FS1's you can only run 5 speakers from the subwoofer IIRC...so unless you change your speaker package, then the answer to your question is:
    Yes you can get it but not with the limitations of your current speaker package...
     
  20. Bogside

    Bogside
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stockport (ex Derry)
    Ratings:
    +361
    AFAIK it's more or less the same thing. Dolby have "Ex", DTS have "Es".

    It's a matrixed centre rear channel - so it mimics 6.1 audio.
     
  21. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Pretty much as above, with TV PLIImovies from either stereo or Dolby encoded material i prefer over stereo, or PLI.
    PLIImusic i'm not sold on, but baby bro loves it...horses for courses i guess.
     
  22. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Not quite. That's true with Dolby's EX, but DTS's ES can either be Matrix or Discrete (i.e. either a matrixed centre rear or genuine discrete centre rear depending on what the DVD has on it)
     
  23. Bogside

    Bogside
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stockport (ex Derry)
    Ratings:
    +361
    Sorry. I did know that but I was just trying to keep it simple.:blush:
     
  24. hamtaro

    hamtaro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    pro logic 2 is excellent, when you have menu,s on dvds in prologic i tend to have it running in pl2, its quite a step up from 2 channel. videogames, especially gamecube are also superb,[ although i dont know if any other formats support pl2
     
  25. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    PS2 is starting to support PLII ina big way. Enter The Matrix and Return To Castle Wolfenstein to name but two recent titles released in PLII...
     
  26. Marv

    Marv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,916
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake
    Ratings:
    +296
    Enter the Matrix is in Pro Logic 2 so the cuts scences are 10 times better IMO.
     
  27. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    PLII is very good indeed, it will change your 2 channel viewing experience. I was surprised How well it managed to re-produce the Matrix (Foyer Scene) when I forced my DVD to output a PCM (stereo) signal, it is not as good as 5.1 but the steering effects are quite close. In my opinion t is better than Neo 6 and Circle surround . However not so good with music unless you have a funny speaker layout.
     
  28. Marv

    Marv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,916
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Camp Crystal Lake
    Ratings:
    +296
    The dolby website has a list of Songs that sound good in PLII
     

Share This Page

Loading...