Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Dolby Digital out - not working?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by stevos, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +567
    Help,

    My sound card states it can output dolby digital via the digital output, but the amp is only reconising a dolby surround track.

    I have tried mediaplayer / realplayer with no luck

    Any ideas?
     
  2. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,037
    Are you playing a DVD with 5.1?

    Normal windows sounds will just be 2 channel.
     
  3. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +567
    Yes, i have also tried a few games that output dolby digital.

    Mediaplayer has the dobly digital symbol at the bottom, but still i am only getting two channel output.
     
  4. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    well media player always has the symbol if it detects a DD signal from the DVD, but it does not mean your soundcard is outputting it, what DVD decoder are you using?, I recoomend oyu get a trial of WinDVD 7 from www.intervideo.com, also what sound card are you using?, make sure you have the sound card's digital output set correctly to digital out, some cards allow you to pass through the line in to the digital out and you do not want that...so you need you sound card's spdif output correctly set and the dvd players digital output sent to spdif, media player is kinda bugy, sometimes it does not keep the setting so best useing a player like win dvd to test ...

    www.intervideo.com
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,037
    Also, make sure the amp is on auto detect signal.
     
  6. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +567
    The amp can't do anything other than auto detect its a denon AVR3802. I read somewhere a while back that some pc's output the DD information, but don't include the tag that tells the amp it is a DD signal. Has anyone heard anything about this?

    I have a couple of copies of windvd, got to be worth a go.
     
  7. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,267
    Have you set all the settings on the pc to spdif out?
    This needs to be done in the dvd player software, and maybe in the sound card drivers.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2017
  8. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +567
    Got it working on intervideo windvd4, but still can't get it working on mediaplayer. Lisa you were right i needed to change the settings in windvd4 to output via digital. Any ideas on what settings need changing on mediaplayer?
     
  9. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What card is it out of curiosity?

    Is it a Trust card?
     
  10. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +567
    No idea, the onboard digital out didn't work so i brought a £10 USB job from ebay, that is digital optical out only.

    Has no drivers and just realise on windowsxp WMD drivers
     
  11. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    HAHAHA
     
  12. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    In media player, go to Tools>options>dvd>advanced, then select SPDIF...should work now...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice