1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dolby Digital or Not?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Goatface, Nov 15, 2003.

1. Goatface

Goatface

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Call me a Numpty, but bare with cos I'm new to this :(

Whenever I spin my DVD's my amp will tell me what formats it detects, irrepective of what I choose to play it in. For example, If it detects, Dolbly Digital, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS or whatever it tells me and then it will select the better as a playback preference, ie DTS if available. (I say that nevously because I have read all the DD V's DTS threads)...Anyway...This said and done I can choose if available to playback in Dolby Digital. THX always seems to be an option for some reason even though only a few of my Pixar and Starwars DVD's are THX. My question is > I just purchased the Limited Shawshank Redemption and The Hellraiser Box set. Both claimed they are DD, However when I spin them the Dolby Digital indicator, and the Pro Logic II indicators come on, but Dolby Digital isn't an available option for playback. Dolby Pro Logic II, Pro Logic Movie is and for some reason THX and the Pioneer own ones too.

Dolby Digital is available on nearly all my other DVD's. I tend to look for at least DD when I am purchasing DVD's now. I played them back in DPLII and it sounded ok but as dynamic as DD normally is? Am I missing something here. Is there different meanings of Dolby Digital???

My amp is the Pioneer 1011.

Be Gentle with me