'dolby digital live' soundcard.

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by callmecheez, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. callmecheez

    callmecheez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can anyone recommend a reasonably priced 'dolby digital live' soundcard.

    The reason why I want one with this feature is so I can hook it up, digitally, to my home theatre system.

    My current Creative Sound Blaster card doesn't do surround over SPDIF for games.

    Thanks in advance Smile
     
  2. famasfilms

    famasfilms
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Presumably you didn't bother searching seeing as how this question has been answered 100 times at least.
     
  3. tim_kay

    tim_kay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well that was constructive criticism if ever ive seen it @ avforums, ill try be more helpful for you!

    Ebuyer do the asonic c-media 7.1 nad 5.1, both have dd live, great cards. Also all the new intel m/boards for htpc have it on-board.
     
  4. callmecheez

    callmecheez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +3
    What a waste of time you are, and that post was. :thumbsdow

    Its actually a difficult subject to search on.
     
  5. callmecheez

    callmecheez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Many thanks tim! :smashin:

    Will almost certainly go for one of those cars :thumbsup:
     
  6. tim_kay

    tim_kay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new codec is sensational, wipes the floor off any m-audio/creative past dd passthrough, and can be had for under £15. I have systems in extremely high end environments running this, using £100k's of kit to process, and the feedback has been exorbitant.
     
  7. famasfilms

    famasfilms
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes clearly navigating to page 2 of this forum is beyond you, as if you had been able to accomplish such a small task you would have seen the 2 thread discussing the very subject you were enquiring about.
     
  8. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Still does not come close to native game audio, does not support EAX4 as well as not being able to pass through Dolby True HD, so your missing out, got a pc which has DTS Connect, but can't stand it, so ditched it and put in my Audigy 2 ZS, CMMS Stereo Surround is a must have if you have a 5.1 sound system, and Dolby True HD via the analogue outputs is a godsend, the onboad HD Audio Realtek Codec is pants for ouputting HD Audio, the Audigy 2 ZS wipes the floor with it...
     
  9. Accylad

    Accylad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    7,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Accrington
    Ratings:
    +317
    I love this forum - people can be sooooooo helpfullllllllllllllll

    I just hope you never need help yourself :mad:
     
  10. tim_kay

    tim_kay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dolby true HD via analogue, is this not a contradiction in terms? Surely you wouldn't want to output a bluray or hd-dvd high quality sound wave to process this way. Especially to cheaper 5.1 systems, your amp should be doing all the processing from an SPDIF for the best quality of sound. And yes this card will output DTS, and if you have new HD software (i.e Cyberlink or Intervideo) and an amp that can decode True HD it will do that also.
     

Share This Page

Loading...